Marine Biological Laboratory Trustees Elect Three New Members

Bookmark and Share
Printable version (pdf)

Contact: Gina Hebert

MBL, WOODS HOLE, MA—The Trustees of the Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL) elected three new members at their meeting on August 2.  They are David A. Greene, University of Chicago; Eric D. Isaacs, Argonne National Laboratory; and John W. McCarter, Jr., The Field Museum.

“Our new Trustees bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the Board, with impressive records of accomplishment in strategic leadership and scientific innovation,” said Board Chairman John W. Rowe. “My fellow Trustees and I look forward to working with David Greene, Eric Isaacs, and John McCarter as the MBL embarks on exciting new collaborations with the University of Chicago.”

The MBL is dedicated to scientific discovery and improving the human condition through research and education in biology, biomedicine, and environmental science. Founded in Woods Hole, Massachusetts, in 1888, the MBL is a private, nonprofit institution. The MBL and the University of Chicago formed an affiliation in July 2013 designed to strengthen both institutions’ missions of research and education.|

About the new Trustees:

David A. Greene
As Executive Vice President of the University of Chicago, David Greene is the senior officer in charge of integrating the University’s strategic initiatives, planning, and implementation across a broad array of departments and units. His work crosses a number of institutional functions, including financial strategy and data research, real estate development, campus master planning, external relations, federal relations, the University’s growing set of activities around the world, and the University of Chicago Laboratory Schools.  Greene is currently President-elect of Colby College.  His new appointment will take effect on July 1, 2014.

Eric D. Isaacs
Physicist Eric D. Isaacs is the Director of Argonne National Laboratory, one of the nation’s largest science and engineering research centers. Under his leadership, Argonne’s researchers are tackling the grand scientific and engineering challenges of our time, with a focus on developing sustainable energy technologies. A Professor of Physics in the James Franck Institute at the University of Chicago, Dr. Isaacs began his career at Bell Laboratories, where he served as director of the Materials Physics Research and Semiconductor Physics departments. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and has served on a number of national scientific advisory committees, including the Department of Energy Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee. He is author or co-author of more than 140 scientific papers and presentations. Dr. Isaacs also serves as President of UChicago Argonne, LLC, which manages the laboratory for the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science. The University of Chicago has led Argonne’s operations since the Laboratory was formally chartered in 1946.

John McCarter, Jr.
John McCarter, Jr., is an Emeritus Trustee of the University of Chicago and was a member of the Board of Trustees from 1993-2008. McCarter is President Emeritus of Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, and Vice Chairman Board of Regents, Smithsonian Institution. Formerly, he was Senior Vice President of Booz-Allen & Hamilton, Inc. He currently sits on the Argonne Board of Governors, the Oriental Institute Visiting Committee, and is a Life Member of the Physical Sciences Visiting Committee. He also serves as a board member of: W. W. Grainger, Inc.; Lucas Cultural Arts Museum; National Recreation Foundation; Chicago Humanities Festival; Prize to End Blindness by 2020.

Other members of the MBL Board of Trustees include John W. Rowe, Chairman; William I. Huyett, Vice-Chair; Colleen M. Cavanaugh, Speaker of the MBL Society; Joan V. Ruderman, President and Director; Maureen Nunez, Treasurer; Robert H. Ament, Esq., Clerk of the Corporation; Timothy Mitchison, Chairman of the Science Council; Robert H. Ament, Esq.; Millicent Bell; Rita R. Colwell; Thomas S. Crane, Esq.; Paul R. Dupee; Gerald R. Fink; L. Patrick Gage; James N. Galloway; Caroline S. Harwood; Robert Haselkorn; H. David Hibbitt; Ethan A. Lerner; George W. Logan; Walter G. Massey; Ambrose K. Monell; Richard S. Morse, Jr.; R. Dana Ono; Saul J. Pannell, Jeffrey H. Pierce; Robert A. Prendergast; George Putnam; Patricia K. Robertson; Elise Rose; Charles M. Rosenthal; Walter J. Salmon; James A. Sharp; Dyann F. Wirth.


The Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL) is dedicated to scientific discovery and improving the human condition through research and education in biology, biomedicine, and environmental science. Founded in Woods Hole, Massachusetts, in 1888, the MBL is a private, nonprofit institution and an affiliate of the University of Chicago.