20th Annual FIR symposium

June 8-10, 2017

All FIRbees and FIR teaching assistants are invited to rediscover Woods Hole this June for our annual reunion symposium weekend at the MBL. We are proud to claim among our ranks 348 successful FIRbees from around the globe. Our symposium provides world-class networking opportunities with the 2016 FIRbees, former classmates, FIR faculty members, distinguished guest investigators, and with FIRbees from nineteen previous years.

To be considered as a symposium speaker, please submit a one-page abstract (download template here) along with the estimated amount of your travel expenses. Send your abstract as an e-mail attachment to Symposium Coordinator, Dori Mebane. The abstract submission deadline is April 1, 2017. Plan for a 10 min presentation.

Topics relevant to reproductive science, and reflecting current research are encouraged. Preference will be given to abstracts from those who attended FIR in 2002, 2007 or 2012 (15, 10 and 5 years ago) but all FIRbees doing outstanding science; presenting new research topics; first-time presenters; and/or those who have not presented at a recent symposium will be considered. Travel funding priority goes to those making presentations, but please know that everyone is welcome to attend the symposium even if we are unable to include your talk on the program. Those submitting abstracts will be notified about speaker selections by May 1.

We provide lodging and meals in Woods Hole, and typically reimburse full travel expenses for those selected to give presentations. Funding priority will be given to FIRbees from 2002, 2007 and 2012 as wells as those presenting outstanding science, those presenting new topics, to first time presenters, and those who have not attended recent symposia. These decisions are made based on a review of submitted abstracts.

The symposium will open with the Luigi Mastroianni Memorial Lecture to be given at 6 PM on June 8 by Dr. Jerome Strauss III. The symposium presentations, 10 min each for the class of 2017 and returning FIRbees, will be on June 9 and 10. The symposium will also feature the Mike McClure Lecture to be given by Dr. Laurinda Jaffe, our 2017 Pioneer Awardee, as well as lectures given by Dr. Sally Camper, our 2017 Beacon Awardee, and Dr. Melissa Perry, FIR03, our Distinguished Alumni Awardee. Other activities include the boat ride on the evening of June 9 and the closing and awards banquet on the evening of June 10.