2017 Whitman Directory

 

Alavian, Kambiz N.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
7/15/2017 – 9/23/2017
Rowe 220
Imperial College London
k.alavian@imperial.ac.uk
Project Title: Regulation of synaptic transmission by Bcl-xL and Kv3.3

Alvina, Karina
Grass Fellow
5/29/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
Texas Tech University
karina.alvina@ttu.edu
Project Title: Stress modulation of NMDA receptor function in the mouse hippocampus

Armstrong, Peter B.
Whitman Center Scientist
5/31/2017 – 9/22/2017
Lillie 118
University of California
pbarmstrong@ucdavis.edu
Project Title: Evolutionary conserved effector proteins of the innate immune system

Augustine, George
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2017 – 7/31/2017
Rowe 221
Nanyang Technological University
george.augustine@ntu.edu.sg
Project Title: Mapping neuronal chloride microdomains

Bennett, Michael V L
Whitman Center Scientist
6/15/2017 – 9/30/2017
Lillie 118A
Albert Einstein Coll.Med.
michael.bennett@einstein.yu.edu
Project Title: Electrical coupling between cells without innexins orpannexins

Bestman, Jennifer E.
Grass Fellow
5/29/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
College Of Charleston
bestmanje@cofc.edu
Project Title: The role of mitochondria in the control of experience-dependent cell proliferation in the brain

Bezanilla, Magdalena
Whitman Center Scientist
6/30/2017 – 7/16/2017
Starr 337
University of MA – Amherst
bezanilla@bio.umass.edu
Project Title: Investigating cell division in desert algae and their closely related aquatic sister algae

Bock, Davi D.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/7/2017 – 8/11/2017
Rowe 326
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
bockd@janelia.hhmi.org
Project Title: Extracellular vesicles in the central nervous system of the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster and the squid Doryteuthis pealeii.

Bodznick, David
Whitman Center Scientist
5/8/2017 – 9/10/2017
Rowe 207
Wesleyan University
dbodznick@wesleyan.edu
Project Title: Suppression of sensory self-stimulation in Leucoraja erinacea

Boothby, Thomas C.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/1/2017 – 8/10/2017
Rowe 220
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
tboothby@live.unc.edu
Project Title: Establishing a marine heterotardigrade species as a model for probing evolutionary and physiological aspects of water bear stress tolerance.

Brady, Scott
Whitman Center Scientist
6/15/2017 – 8/31/2017
Rowe 108, 109
Univ of Illinois at Chicago
stbrady@uic.edu
Project Title: Axonal Transport and Neurodegeneration

Burgess, David
Whitman Center Scientist
6/10/2017 – 8/26/2017
Lillie 223
Boston College
david.burgess@bc.edu
Project Title: Pushing versus Pulling: Mechanism of Sperm Pronuclear Migration

Butler, David C.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
7/15/2017 – 8/19/2017
Rowe 410, 407, 408, 409, 418
Regenerative Research Foundaton
davidbutler@neuralsci.org
Project Title: Development of novel bifunctional anti-synuclein intrabodies that have the potential to serve as direct therapeutics in a lamprey model of spinal cord injury.

Chamessian, Alexander G.
Grass Fellow
5/28/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
1986
agc14@duke.edu
Project Title: Deciphering Novel Pain and Itch Circuits in the Spinal Dorsal Horn with Activity-Dependent Labeling, Electrophysiology and Single-Cell Transcriptomics

Chang, Fred
Whitman Center Scientist
6/27/2017 – 7/30/2017
Lillie 223
UCSF
fred.chang@ucsf.edu
Project Title: Effects of cell size and shape on cytokinesis

Chappell, Richard L.
Whitman Center Scientist
3/8/2017 – 11/30/2019
Rowe 205
State University of New York at Buffalo
rchappell@mbl.edu
Project Title: Collaborative Research-RUI: The role of extracellular H+ in processing visual signals.

Colin, Sean
Whitman Center Scientist
5/29/2017 – 8/31/2017
Rowe 301, 303
Roger Williams University
scolin@rwu.edu
Project Title: Hydrodynamic advantages of flexible propulsors in swimming animals

Colon-Ramos, Daniel A.
MBL Fellow
6/30/2017 – 8/12/2017
Lillie 219
Kacey Rajkovich
daniel.colon-ramos@yale.edu
Project Title: diPSIM for imaging embryos

Costello, Jack H.
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2017 – 8/27/2017
Rowe 301, 303
Providence College – MBL
costello@providence.edu
Project Title: Mechanical basis of universal propulsor bending patterns in swimming and flying animals.

Criswell, Katharine E.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/1/2017 – 8/10/2017
Loeb 257A
University of Cambridge
katharine.criswell@gmail.com
Project Title: The evolution of axial segmentation in jawed vertebrates

Dawson, Scott C.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/16/2017 – 8/26/2017
Lillie 104, Lillie 108
UC Davis
scdawson@ucdavis.edu
Project Title: Defining the mechanism of interphase branched microtubule nucleation in the emerging model amoeba Corallomyxa tenera

Evans, Ben J.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/10/2017 – 8/18/2017
Rowe 423, 424, 425
University of California – Davis
evansb@mcmaster.ca
Project Title: Sex determination in African clawed frogs (Xenopus)

Gadsby, David
Whitman Center Scientist
5/1/2017 – 10/31/2017
Lillie 121
Rockefeller University
gadsby@rockefeller.edu
Project Title: Proton import by Na/K pumps: evolutionary limit, or hybrid function with possible link to neurological disorders?

Gardel, Margaret L.
HHMI/HCIA Summer Institute Principal Investigator
6/17/2017 – 7/31/2017
Rowe 319, 320, 321, 302
University of Chicago
gardel@uchicago.edu
Project Title: Active Matter in the Cytoplasm

Gatlin, Jesse
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2017 – 7/29/2017
Lillie 225, 226
University of Wyoming
jgatlin@uwyo.edu
Project Title: Using Microfluidics and Cell-free Extracts to Elucidate Mechanisms of Aster Positioning

Gillis, Andrew
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2017 – 8/19/2017
Loeb 257A
University of Cambridge
jag93@cam.ac.uk
Project Title: Embryonic development of the little skate, Leucoraja erinacea

Giraldez, Antonio J.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/17/2017 – 8/19/2017
Rowe 211, 212
Yale
antonio.giraldez@yale.edu
Project Title: Deciphering the regulatory code during the maternal to zygotic transition across species

Gladfelter, Amy S.
HHMI/HCIA Summer Institute Principal Investigator
6/16/2017 – 8/4/2017
Rowe 319, 320, 321, 302
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
amyglad@unc.edu
Project Title: Control of cellular phase transitions

Goldman, Robert D.
Whitman Center Scientist
5/31/2017 – 9/1/2017
Rowe 305, 306
Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
r-goldman@northwestern.edu
Project Title: Nuclear Lamins — Structure and Function in Nuclei and Meiotic Spindles

Gonczy, Pierre
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/26/2017 – 8/11/2017
Lillie 104, 108
EPFL
pierre.gonczy@epfl.ch
Project Title: Mechanisms of centriole elimination in starfish oocytes

Gorbsky, Gary J.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/25/2017 – 9/3/2017
Rowe 326
Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
GJG@omrf.org
Project Title: Rapid Gene Editing in Multiple Model Species through Transfer of Nuclei from Cultured Cells

Grant, Philip
Whitman Center Scientist
6/24/2017 – 9/9/2017
Rowe 309
National Institutes of Health
grantp@ninds.nih.gov
Project Title: Compartmental expression of a Cdk5 inhibitory peptide in Squid giant axon

Gray, Jessica
Whitman Center Scientist
9/1/2017 – 9/30/2017
Rowe 210, 211, 212
Harvard Medical School
jessica_gray@hms.harvard.edu
Project Title: Evolution of miRNA regulation in neural development

Gribkoff, Valentin K.
Whitman Center Scientist
6/15/2017 – 9/15/2017
Rowe 213
Yale University School of Medicine
gribkoffv@aol.com
Project Title: See application by Elizabeth Jonas

Hammarlund, Marc
Whitman Center Research Awardee
7/1/2017 – 8/12/2017
Lillie 215
Kacey Rajkovich
marc.hammarlund@yale.edu
Project Title: Function and regulation of developmental programmed cell death

Harris, Nathan
Grass Fellow
5/29/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
UCSF
nathanCSharris@gmail.com
Project Title: Temperature-induced plasticity of motoneuron transcriptome and set-point excitability

Hershko, Avram
Whitman Center Scientist
7/1/2017 – 9/6/2017
Rowe 311
Technion Facullty of Medicine
hershko@technion.ac.il
Project Title: Control of cell division by ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation.

Hisey, Erin
Grass Fellow
5/29/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
Duke University
hisey@neuro.duke.edu
Project Title: Serotonergic Modulation of Vocal Learning

Holmgren, Miguel
Whitman Center Scientist
4/26/2017 – 6/3/2017
Rowe 308
NINDS/NIH
holmgren@ninds.nih.gov
Project Title: Squid Axon Biology

Holt, Liam J.
HHMI/HCIA Summer Institute Principal Investigator
6/12/2017 – 7/30/2017
Rowe 319, 320, 321, 302
New York University
ljholt@gmail.com
Project Title: Using synthetic biology to study phase separations in biomatter

Hu, Ke
Whitman Center Research Awardee
7/17/2017 – 9/15/2017
Lillie 341
Indiana University
kehu@indiana.edu
Project Title: From free living to parasitism: understanding the evolutionary path of the apicomplexan parasites using their marine relatives

Hyman, Anthony A.
HHMI/HCIA Summer Institute Principal Investigator
7/1/2017 – 7/29/2017
Rowe 319, 320, 321, 302
MPI-CBG
hymanoffice@mpi-cbg.de
Project Title: HHMI lab

Jonas, Elizabeth A.
Whitman Center Scientist
6/16/2017 – 8/21/2017
Rowe 213
Kacey Rajkovich
elizabeth.jonas@yale.edu
Project Title: Mitochondrial ion channels in synaptic transmission

Kaczmarek, Leonard K.
Whitman Center Scientist
6/15/2017 – 9/18/2017
Rowe 213
Kacey Rajkovich
leonard.kaczmarek@yale.edu
Project Title: Regulation of synaptic transmission by K channels, Bcl-xL and Hax-1

Kaupp, U. Benjamin
Whitman Center Scientist
6/11/2017 – 8/25/2017
Rowe 312
Research Center caesar
u.b.kaupp@caesar.de
Project Title: Chemotactic signaling pathway in sea urchin sperm

Khodakhah, Kamran
Whitman Center Scientist
5/31/2017 – 9/10/2017
Rowe 215
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
k.khodakhah@einstein.yu.edu
Project Title: Cerebellar Function in Health and Disease

Khodjakov, Alexey L.
Whitman Center Scientist
6/30/2017 – 7/30/2017
Lillie 223
Wadsworth Center
alexey.khodjakov@health.ny.gov
Project Title: Mechanisms of mitotic spindle assembly

Kingsley, David
Whitman Center Scientist
5/15/2017 – 6/1/2017
Marine Resources Center 306A
Stanford University
kingsley@stanford.edu
Project Title: Evolutionary innovations in sea robins

Koenig, Kristen
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/1/2017 – 8/31/2017
Lillie 114
Harvard University
kmkoenig@fas.harvard.edu
Project Title: Neurogenesis in the Visual System of the Cephalopod Doryteuthis (Loligo) pealeii

La Riviere, Patrick
MBL Fellow
7/1/2017 – 8/12/2017
Lillie 219
University of Chicago
pjlarivi@uchicago.edu
Project Title: Development of methods for computational microscopy

Laissue, Philippe P.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/22/2017 – 7/23/2017
Marine Resources Center 205
University of Essex
plaissue@essex.ac.uk
Project Title: Label-free, low-phototoxicity imaging of marine organisms and communities

Lesoway, Maryna P.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
5/14/2017 – 7/23/2017
Rowe 205
University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
mlesoway@illinois.edu
Project Title: Sex change and reproductive development in sequentially hermaphroditic marine snails

Lippmann, Kristina
Grass Fellow
5/29/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
Leipzig University
Kristina.Lippmann@gmail.com
Project Title: Presynaptic mechanisms in epileptogenesis

Llinas, Rodolfo R.
Whitman Center Scientist
5/15/2017 – 9/8/2017
Rowe 208, 209
NYU School of Medicine
mary.clarke@nyumc.org
Project Title: Transmitter release in the squid giant synapse

Maddox, Paul S.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/14/2017 – 8/21/2017
Lillie 220
UNC-Chapel Hill
pmaddox@email.unc.edu
Project Title: Optimizing and Applying LITE microscopy technology to support the MBL community

Maienschein, Jane
MBL Fellow
5/15/2017 – 3/22/2019
Lillie 228
Arizona State University
maienschein@asu.edu
Project Title:

Malamy, Jocelyn
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/24/2017 – 8/7/2017
Rowe 219
University of Chicago
jmalamy@bsd.uchicago.edu
Project Title: The role of Rho GTPases in wound healing in a marine model, Clytia hemisphaerica

Malchow, Robert P.
Whitman Center Scientist
7/10/2017 – 8/25/2017
Rowe 205
University of Illinois at Chicago
paulmalc@uic.edu
Project Title: The Role of Extracellular H+ in Processing Visual Signals.

Mayor, Satyajit
HHMI/HCIA Summer Institute Principal Investigator
6/17/2017 – 7/15/2017
Rowe 319, 320, 321, 302
National Centre for Biological Sciences
mayor@ncbs.res.in
Project Title: HCIA Summer Institute

Mensinger, Allen
Whitman Center Scientist
5/15/2017 – 9/15/2017
Marine Resources Center 306D
University of Minnesota Duluth
amensing@d.umn.edu
Project Title: Multimodal sensory integration in toadfish

Minor, Paul J.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
5/1/2017 – 5/31/2017 and 9/1/2017 – 9/30/2017
Rowe 210, 211, 212
Hopkins Marine Station of Stanford University
paul.j.minor@gmail.com
Project Title: Enhancer Evolution and the Origins of Vertebrate Brain Development

Mitchison, Timothy J.
Whitman Center Scientist
6/10/2017 – 9/10/2017
Lillie 225, 226
Harvard Medical School
timothy_mitchison@hms.havard.edu
Project Title: Diverse cell division mechanisms

Morfini, Gerardo A.
Whitman Center Scientist
7/1/2017 – 8/31/2017
Rowe 108, 109
University of Illinois at Chicago
gmorfini@uic.edu
Project Title: “Addressing toxic effects of neuropathogenic proteins within the axonal compartment”.

Oakey, John
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/24/2017 – 8/13/2017
Lillie 225, 226
University of Wyoming
joakey@uwyo.edu
Project Title: Microfluidic encapsulation of cell-free extracts to probe intracellular processes driven by microtubule dynamics

O’Connell, Craig P.
Whitman Center Scientist
5/22/2017 – 5/26/2017
Marine Resources Center
O’Seas Conservation Foundation, Inc.
oseasfdn@gmail.com
Project Title: Assessing the Effects of the Novel Camera-Based Tracking Technology, the Shark Harness, on the Behavior of the Smoothhound Dogfish Shark (Mustelus canis)

O’Connell, Mary A.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
7/1/2017 – 8/26/2017
Rowe 421, Marine Resources Center 218
CEITEC , Masaryk University
mary.oconnell@ceitec.muni.cz
Project Title: A. Elucidating the evolutionarily conserved roles of ADARs, the RNA editing enzymes

Otopalik, Adriane G.
Grass Fellow
5/29/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
Brandeis University
adriane.g.otopalik@gmail.com
Project Title: Modulatory reconfiguration of single neurons


Pant, Harish C. C.

Whitman Center Scientist
6/20/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 309
NIH/NINDS, Building 49 Room 2A-28
panth@ninds.nih.gov
Project Title: To study the role of topographic regulation of cytoskeletal protein phosphorylation using squid giant axon system

Reese, Tom
Whitman Center Scientist
5/1/2017 – 8/31/2017
Loeb G08
NIH
treese@mbl.edu
Project Title: Cnideria

Rhodes, Heather J.
Whitman Center Scientist
5/25/2017 – 9/3/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
Denison University
rhodesh@denison.edu
Project Title: Social signalling in Xenopus laevis

Richardson, Benjamin D.
Grass Fellow
5/29/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
Washington State University
benrichardson@vetmed.wsu.edu
Project Title: Cerebellar Contributions to Alcohol Abuse

Roll-Mecak, Antonina
Whitman Center Scientist
6/22/2017 – 8/22/2017
Rowe 307
National Institutes of Health
Antonina@mail.nih.gov
Project Title: Effects of the tubulin code on kinesin motors

Rome, Lawrence C.
Whitman Center Scientist
5/15/2017 – 8/31/2017
Rowe 313
University of Pennsylvania
lawrence.rome@gmail.com
Project Title: How swimbladder hyperinflation helps the midshipman fish’s superfast muscles generate continuous 100 Hz hour-long mating calls

Rosen, Michael
HHMI/HCIA Summer Institute Principal Investigator
6/18/2017 – 7/29/2017
Rowe 319, 320, 321, 302
UT Southwestern Medical Center
michael.rosen@utsouthwestern.edu
Project Title: HCIA Summer Institute

Ross, William N.
Whitman Center Scientist
6/4/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 206
new york medical college
ross@nymc.edu
Project Title: sodium and calcium imaging of rat hippocampal and cortical pyramidal neurons

Sadler Edepli, Kirsten
Whitman Center Scientist
6/30/2017 – 8/15/2017
Rowe 210
New York University Abu Dhabi
kirsten.edepli@nyu.edu
Project Title: Defining the contribution of autophagy to ER stress subtypes in the zebrafish liver

Sansam, Christopher L.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/5/2017 – 8/14/2017
Rowe 210
Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
chris-sansam@omrf.org
Project Title: Developmental Control of DNA Replication

Shekhar, Shashank
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/16/2017 – 8/21/2017
Rowe 301, 303
Brandeis University
shashank.shekhar@yahoo.com
Project Title: Uncovering the physical origins of multicellularity using Stentor Coeruleus as a model organism

Shroff, Hari
MBL Fellow
6/25/2017 – 8/1/2017
Lillie 219
NIH
drbar314@gmail.com
Project Title: Construction of 4D neurodevelopmental atlas in C elegans embryos, improvement of next generation light sheet microscopy

Sloboda, Roger
Whitman Center Scientist
6/19/2017 – 8/31/2017
Lillie 121
Dartmouth College
rds@dartmouth.edu
Project Title: Flagellar assembly and disassembly

Sternberg, Jenna R.
Grass Fellow
5/29/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
Brain and Spine Institute (ICM)
jrsternberg@gmail.com
Project Title: Sensory coding in the larval zebrafish gut

Tamm, Sidney
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2017 – 9/29/2017
Rowe 113
tamm@bu.edu
Project Title: Rhythmic behavior in Ctenophores

Terasaki, Mark
Whitman Center Scientist
5/15/2017 – 9/20/2017
Lillie 216, 217, Rowe 113
university of connecticut health center
terasaki@uchc.edu
Project Title: Serial section electron microscopy of marine embryos

Tytell, Eric D.
Whitman Center Scientist
7/1/2017 – 8/12/2017
Rowe 326, 303
Tufts University
eric.tytell@tufts.edu
Project Title: Three dimensional flow patterns around swimming fishes

Vale, Ronald D.
HHMI/HCIA Summer Institute Principal Investigator
6/1/2017 – 7/31/2017
Rowe 319, 320, 321, 302
University of California, San Francisco
Ron.vale@ucsf.edu
Project Title: HCIA Summer Institute

Vera, Jorge
Grass Fellow
5/28/2017 – 9/2/2017
Rowe 201, 222, 223
University of Chile
jorgeverab@gmail.com
Project Title: Modulation of frequency preference in dendrites of pyramidal neurons

Wagner, Denisa D.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/17/2017 – 8/24/2017
Rowe 305, 306
Boston Children’s Hospital
denisa.wagner@childrens.harvard.edu
Project Title: Cellular events during the formation of neutrophil extracellular traps (NETs)

Waterman, Clare M.
Whitman Center Scientist
6/7/2017 – 8/12/2017
Rowe 305, 306
NIH/NHLBI
watermancm@nhlbi.nih.gov
Project Title: Cell Biology of Neutrophil Netosis

Weissbourd, Brandon C.
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/30/2017 – 8/1/2017
Rowe 219
Caltech
bweissb@gmail.com
Project Title: Neural mechanisms underlying the complex behaviors of Clytia hemisphaerica

Wilhelm, Jim
HHMI/HCIA Summer Institute Principal Investigator
6/18/2017 – 7/28/2017
Rowe 319, 320, 321, 302
UC San Diego
jwilhelm@ucsd.edu
Project Title: Polymerization and Partitioning of Metabolic Enzymes

Yuste, Rafael
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/15/2017 – 8/23/2017
Marine Resources Center 306A-C
Columbia University
rmy5@columbia.edu
Project Title: Hydra lab

Zimmerberg, Joshua
Whitman Center Scientist
6/4/2017 – 10/1/2017
Rowe 310
NIH
joshz@helix.nih.gov
Project Title: Physical organizing principles of plasma membrane revealed by temperature-dependent changes in Loligo

Zottoli, Steven J.
Whitman Center Scientist
5/1/2017 – 8/31/2017
Rowe 213
Williams College
steven.j.zottoli@williams.edu
Project Title: Effects of environmental changes on the central nervous system of fishes