2018 Whitman Directory

Alavian, Kambiz
Whitman Center Fellowship Awardee
5/21/2018 – 7/25/2018
Rowe 221
Imperial College London
k.alavian@imperial.ac.uk
Project Title: Regulation of synaptic transmission by Bcl-xL and Kv3.3

Armstrong, Peter
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 9/30/2018
Lillie 118
pbarmstrong@ucdavis.edu
University of California Davis
Project Title: Characterization of immune defense proteins that show evolutionary conservation amongst the metaoans

Baskin, Tobias
Whitman Center Fellowship Awardee
6/4/2018 – 8/10/2018
Lillie 110
University of Massachusetts Amherst
baskin@umass.edu
Project Title: Three-dimensional polarized light imaging

Bennett, Michael
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 9/28/2018
Lillie 118A
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
michael.bennett@einstein.yu.edu
Project Title: Evolution of electrical coupling

Scott Brady
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 8/31/2018
Rowe 108, 109
University of Illinois at Chicago
stbrady@uic.edu
Project Title: Molecular mechanisms of fast axonal transport

C. Titus Brown
Whitman Center Fellow
6/9/2018 – 8/17/2018
Bay Paul Center Office
University of California Davis
ctbrown@ucdavis.edu
Project Title: Bioinformatics to aid in development of genetically tractable model organisms

Buxbaum, Joseph
Whitman Center Scientist
6/9/2018 – 9/9/2018
Rowe 220
Mount Sinai
joseph.buxbaum@mssm.edu
Project Title: Functional genetics of autism and novel therapeutics

Chang, Fred
Whitman Center Scientist
7/1/2018 – 8/5/2018
Lillie 223
UCSF
fred.chang@ucsf.edu
Project Title: Effect of cytoplasmic density on cellular processes

Christiaen, Lionel
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/18/2018 – 6/22/2018, 7/28/2018 – 8/4/2018
MRC 306A
New York University
lc121@nyu.edu
Project Title: Novel Functional Genomics Tools for the Chordate Model Ciona

Colin, Sean
Whitman Center Scientist
5/14/2018 – 8/24/2018
Rowe 301, 303
Roger Williams University
scolin@rwu.edu
Project Title: Fluid manipulations by feeding and swimming aquatic animals

Colon-Ramos, Daniel
MBL Fellow
6/30/2018 – 8/12/2018
Lillie 219
Yale University School of Medicine
daniel.colon-ramos@yale.edu
Project Title: Molecular mechanisms of synapse formation and function

Costello, Jack
Whitman Center Scientist
6/15/2018 – 8/26/2018
Rowe 301, 303
Providence College
costello@providence.edu
Project Title: What’s their impact?: Quantification of medusan feeding mechanics as a tool for predicting medusan predation

Crawford, Karen
Whitman Center Research Awardee
6/5/2018 – 8/14/2018
Lillie 316
St. Mary’s College of Maryland
kcrawford@smcm.edu
Project Title: Generating Transgenic Knock in and Knock out Squid embryos at the Marine Biological Laboratory

Dawson, Scott
Whitman Center Fellow
6/17/2018 – 8/26/2018
Lillie 104, 105
University of California Davis
scdawson@ucdavis.edu
Project Title: Mechanisms and evolutionary implications of branched microtubule networks in Rhizarian amoeba

DeGiorgis, Joseph
Whitman Center Scientist
5/1/2018 – 8/31/2018
Lillie 109
Providence College
joe_degiorgis@hotmail.com
Project Title: The dimensional distribution of the amyloid precursor protein of Alzheimer’s disease

Dulac, Catherine
Whitman Center Scientist
7/16/2018 – 8/4/2018
Rowe 201
Harvard University
nhaas@fas.harvard.edu
Project Title: TBD

Emery, Patrick
Whitman Center Fellow
7/3/2018 – 8/26/2018
Rowe 319-321
UMASS Medical School
patrick.emery@umassmed.edu
Project Title: Establishing Parhyale hawaiensis as model for the study of circatidal clocks

Evans, Ben
Whitman Center Fellow
6/13/2018 – 8/21/2018
Rowe 423
McMaster University
evansb@mcmaster.ca
Project Title: How do important things evolve? Using genome editing to study rapid evolution of sex determination.

Feller, Katherine
Grass Fellow
5/27/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 222
University of Cambridge
kate.feller@gmail.com
Project Title: Striking Neurobiology: visual targeting and neural control of ballistic mantis shrimp strikes

Fritzenwanker, Jens
Whitman Center Scientist
9/1/2018 – 9/30/2018
Rowe 210, 211
Georgetown University
jf1160@georgetown.edu
Project Title: Evolution of Vent mediated BMP signaling during embryonic patterning

Fritz-Laylin, Lillian
Whitman Center Fellow
6/23/2018 – 8/26/2018
Lillie 104, 105
University of Massachusetts Amherst
lfritzlaylin@bio.umass.edu
Project Title: Aquatic chytrid fungi and the evolution of cell motility

Furlow, David
Whitman Center Fellow
7/28/2018 – 9/9/2018
Rowe 423
University of California Davis
jdfurlow@ucdavis.edu
Project Title: Investigating nuclear receptor function in vivo with advanced genome editing

Gadsby, David
Whitman Center Scientist
5/1/2018 – 10/31/2018
Lillie 121
Rockefeller University
gadsby@rockefeller.edu
Project Title: Proton import by Na/K pumps: evolutionary limit, or hybrid function with possible link to neurological disorders?

Gibson, Daniel
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 10/1/2018
Lillie118
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
dgibson@wpi.edu
Project Title: TBD

Gillis, Andrew
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 8/31/2018
Loeb 257A
University of Cambridge
jag93@cam.ac.uk
Project Title: Skeletal development, regeneration and evolution in the little skate, Leucoraja erinacea

Gladfelter, Amy
MBL Fellow
6/1/2018 – 9/14/2018
Lillie 225, 226
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
amyglad@unc.edu
Project Title: Identification and cell biology of the mycobiome of Woods Hole

Goldman, Robert
Whitman Center Scientist
5/29/2018 – 8/31/2018
Rowe 305
Northwestern University
r-goldman@northwestern.edu
Project Title: Cytoskeletal and Nucleoskeletal Mechanisms Responsible for Nuclear Envelope Dynamics in Neutrophils

Gomes, Edgar
Whitman Center Fellow
6/14/2018 – 8/16/2018
Rowe 326
iMM- Lisbon, Faculdade Medicina, Universidade Lisboa
edgargomes@medicina.ulisboa.pt
Project Title: A role for cell anisotropy on nucleus-cytoskeleton connections

Gómez-Skarmeta, José
Whitman Center Fellow
6/22/2018 – 8/18/2018
Rowe 420
Centro Andaluz de Biologˆa del Desarrollo
jlgomska@upo.es
Project Title: Generation of epigenomic data to unravel the regulatory principles governing the evolution of the unique morphology of skate fins

Gonczy, Pierre
Whitman Center Fellow
6/17/2018 – 8/10/2018
Lillie 104, 105
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne
pierre.gonczy@epfl.ch
Project Title: Probing conservation and diversity of centriole elimination mechanisms in starfish oocytes

Gonzalez-Bellido, Paloma
Whitman Center Fellow
7/28/2018 – 9/16/2018
MRC 215
University of Cambridge
ptg25@cam.ac.uk
Project Title: Unravelling the principles for visuo-motor transformations within the cephalopod brain

Goshima, Gohta
Whitman Center Scientist
7/2/2018 – 7/30/2018
Lillie 223
Nagoya University
goshima@bio.nagoya-u.ac.jp
Project Title: Mechanism of microtubule-based transport in plants

Gray, Jessica
Whitman Center Scientist
9/1/2018 – 9/30/2018
Rowe 212
Harvard Medical School
jessica_gray@hms.harvard.edu
Project Title: Saccoglossus as a model for deuterostome evolution & vertebrate origins

Green, William
Whitman Center Scientist
6/16/2018 – 8/17/2018
Rowe 219
University of Chicago
wgreen@uchicago.edu
Project Title: Mechanisms underlying AMPA receptor synaptic nanoarchitecture

Gribkoff, Valentin
Whitman Center Scientist
6/25/2018 – 9/24/2018
Rowe 213
Yale University School of Medicine
gribkoffv@aol.com
Project Title: Effects of Mitochondrial Modulation on Synaptic Transmission and Plasticity

Gross, Jeffrey
Whitman Center Fellow
7/8/2018 – 8/20/2018
Rowe 423
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
grossjm@pitt.edu
Project Title: Regeneration of the Retinal Pigmented Epithelium

Hardwick, J. Marie
Whitman Center Scientist
7/15/2018 – 8/4/2018
Rowe 213
Johns Hopkins University
hardwick@jhu.edu
Project Title: Intrinsic cell death mechanisms

Herbert, Amy
Grass Fellow
5/28/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 201
Washington University in St. Louis
amyherbert@wustl.edu
Project Title: Sea robins as a model for the genetic basis of novel traits in vertebrates.

Hershko, Avram
Whitman Center Scientist
6/15/2018 – 9/15/2018
Rowe 311
Technion Facullty of Medicine
hershko@technion.ac.il
Project Title: Control of cell division by ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation

Holmgren, Miguel
Whitman Center Scientist
4/28/2018 – 6/2/2018
Rowe 308
NINDS/NIH
holmgren@ninds.nih.gov
Project Title: Membrane Protein Synthesis in Axons

Holt, Liam J.
Whitman Center Fellow
5/31/2018 – 7/1/2018
Lillie 214
New York University
ljholt@gmail.com
Project Title: Evolutionary Biophysics of the Cytosol

Jeffery, William
Whitman Center Scientist
5/15/2018 – 8/15/2018
Rowe 207
University of Maryland
jeffery@umd.edu
Project Title: Role of stem cells in complete brain regeneration of the Tunicate Ciona

Johnston, Daniel
Whitman Center Scientist
5/28/2018 – 9/7/2018
Rowe 206
University of Texas at Austin
dan1247@mac.com
Project Title: Calcium and sodium imaging of dendritic spines

Jonas, Elizabeth
Whitman Center Scientist
6/11/2018 – 9/15/2018
Rowe 213
Yale University School of Medicine
elizabeth.jonas@yale.edu
Project Title: Mitochondrial ion channels in synaptic transmission

Jorgensen, Erik
Whitman Center Scientist
6/10/2018 – 7/16/2018
Lillie 215
University of Utah
jorgensen@biology.utah.edu
Project Title: Stimulated exocytosis and endocytosis in Trichoplax adherens.

Kaczmarek, Leonard
Whitman Center Scientist
6/15/2018 – 9/14/2018
Rowe 213
Yale University School of Medicine
leonard.kaczmarek@yale.edu
Project Title: Interactions of potassium channels with neurotransmitter release sites

Kaupp, U. Benjamin
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 8/22/2018
Lillie 114
Research Center Caesar
u.b.kaupp@caesar.de
Project Title: Chemotactic signaling pathway in sea urchin sperm

Kee, Hooi Lynn
Whitman Center Fellow
6/3/2018 – 8/12/2018
Loeb 206, Microbial Diversity Course
Stetson University
hkee@stetson.edu
Project Title: Shaping the iridescent green structural color of marine bacteria Tenacibaculum discolor

Khodakhah, Kamran
Whitman Center Scientist
5/25/2018 – 9/10/2018
Rowe 201
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
k.khodakhah@einstein.yu.edu
Project Title: Crebellar Function in Health and Disease

Kropff, Emilio
Grass Fellow
5/27/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 201
Fundacion Instituto Leloir
kropff@gmail.com
Project Title: Electrophysiology of leadership and social navigation in rodents

La Riviere, Patrick
MBL Fellow
6/30/2018 – 8/11/2018
Lillie 219
University of Chicago
pjlarivi@uchicago.edu
Project Title: Development and testing of a multi view polarized fluorescence microscope

Laufer, Hans
Whitman Center Scientist
6/13/2018 – 10/12/2018
Lillie 118
University of Connecticut
hans.laufer@uconn.edu
Project Title: Implication of alkyphenolic pollution of lobster, Limulus and marcoalgae in the marine environment

Lesoway, Maryna
Whitman Center Fellow
6/4/2018 – 7/30/2018
Rowe 205
University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
mlesoway@illinois.edu
Project Title: Understanding sex change in marine snails: leveraging ecotoxicology to identify developmental mechanisms

Llinas, Rodolfo
Whitman Center Scientist
5/1/2018 – 9/7/2018
Rowe 208, 209
NYU School of Medicine
63mmclarke@gmail.com
Project Title: Synaptic Transmitter Release

Lowe, Chris
Whitman Center Scientist
Rowe 210, 211, 212
5/2/2018 – 5/31/2018
Project Title: Hemichordate neural organization: generating neural system diversity from conserved molecular patterning
9/3/2018 – 9/28/2018
Project Title: Evolution and development of deuterostome brains
Stanford University
clowe@stanford.edu

Luxton, G.W. Gant
Whitman Center Fellow
5/18/2018 – 7/31/2018
Rowe 326
University of Minnesota
gwgl@umn.edu
Project Title: Non-conventional nuclear-cytoplasmic transport and DYT1 dystonia.

Maddox, Paul
Whitman Center Fellow
6/10/2018 – 8/11/2018
Lillie 220
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Pmaddox@unc.edu
Project Title: Development and application of LITE imaging for low photodamage in high resolution fluorescence imaging

Maienschein, Jane
MBL Fellow
1/1/2108 – 12/31/2018
Lillie 228
Arizona State University
jmaienschein@mbl.edu
Project Title: MBL History Project

Malamy, Jocelyn
Whitman Center Scientist
6/23/2017 – 7/21/2018
Rowe 219
University of Chicago
jmalamy@bsd.uchicago.edu
Project Title:

Malchow, Robert
Whitman Center Scientist
7/2/2018 – 8/19/2018
Rowe 205
University of Illinois at Chicago
paulmalc@uic.edu
Project Title: The Role of Extracellular H+ in Processing Visual Signals

Martinez-Acosta, Veronica
Whitman Center Scientist
6/11/2018 – 8/18/2018
MRC 306D
University of the Incarnate Word
vgmartin@uiwtx.edu
Project Title: Wound healing and regeneration in an annelid model

Matlin, Karl
Whitman Center Scientist
3/7/2018 – 3/6/2019
Library Office Stack 404
University of Chicago
kmatlin@uchicago.edu
Project Title: History of Cell Biology

McCoy, Matthew
Grass Fellow
5/28/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 201
Washington University in St. Louis
mccoy@wustl.edu
Project Title: Genomic features of nervous system complexity in behaviorally sophisticated cephalopods

Mensinger, Allen
Whitman Center Scientist
5/14/2018 – 9/14/2018
MRC 306D
University of Minnesota Duluth
amensing@d.umn.edu
Project Title: Toadfish sensory physiology

Montague, Tessa
Grass Fellow
5/28/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 201
Harvard University
tmontague@g.harvard.edu
Project Title: The neural basis of camouflage in cuttlefish

Morfini, Gerardo
Whitman Center Scientist
7/1/2018 – 8/31/2018
Rowe 108, 109
University of Illinois at Chicago
gmorfini@uic.edu
Project Title: Addressing toxic effects of neuropathogenic proteins within the axonal compartment

Nakamura, Tetsuya
Whitman Center Fellow
6/18/2018 – 8/31/2018
Rowe 420
Rutgers University
tetsuya@uchicago.edu
Project Title: Revealing the genetic mechanisms underlying diversities of dermal and endochondral bones in vertebrate evolution

Pant, Harish
Whitman Center Scientist
6/15/2018 – 9/2/2018
Rowe 309
NINDS/NIH
panth@ninds.nih.gov
Project Title: Regulation of Topographic Phosphorylation of Cytoskeletal proteins; Physiology and pathology

Pauli, Andrea
Whitman Center Fellow
7/12/2018 – 8/31/2018
Rowe 221
Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP)
andrea.pauli@imp.ac.at
Project Title: Analysis of sperm-egg interaction and fusion by imaging and evolutionary profiling

Range, Ryan
Whitman Center Scientist
9/1/2018 – 9/30/2018
Rowe 207
Mississippi State University
range@biology.msstate.edu
Project Title: Specification and patterning of early gene regulatory networks along the anterior-posterior in ambulacrarian embryos

Reese, Tom
Whitman Center Scientist
7/6/2018 – 8/28/2018
Loeb G08
NIH
treese@mbl.edu
Project Title: Cnideria

Rhodes, Heather
Whitman Center Scientist
5/25/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 201
Denison University
rhodesh@denison.edu
Project Title: Examining chemoreception in squid

Roll-Mecak, Antonina
Whitman Center Scientist
7/1/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 307
NIH
Antonina@mail.nih.gov
Project Title: The effects of tubulin isoforms and posttranslational modifications on microtubule dynamics and structure

Ross, William
Whitman Center Scientist
6/3/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 206
New York Medical College
ross@nymc.edu
Project Title: Combined sodium and calcium imaging of dendritic function in pyramidal neurons

Sansam, Christopher
Whitman Center Fellow
6/12/2018 – 8/21/2018
MRC 306B
Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
chris-sansam@omrf.org
Project Title: The Embryonic DNA Replication Program

Schnell, Alexandra
Grass Fellow
5/28/2018 – 9/2/2018
Rowe 201
alex.k.schnell@gmail.com
Project Title: Complex Cognition in the Common Cuttlefish

Sheung, Janet
Whitman Center Fellow
6/9/2018 – 8/18/2018
Loeb 352
Vassar College
jsheung@vassar.edu
Project Title: State Space Reconstruction of Stentor coeruleus Anatomy and Regeneration

Shroff, Hari
MBL Fellow
6/24/2018 – 7/31/2018
Lillie 219
National Institute of Health (NIH)
drbar314@gmail.com
Project Title: Development of polarization diSPIM and adaptive optic diSPIM

Shubin, Neil
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 420, 421, 422
University of Chicago
nshubin@uchicago.edu
Project Title: Genomics of Novel Marine Models: Basal Vertebrates

Sleight, Victoria
Whitman Center Fellow
6/4/2018 – 8/12/2018
Loeb 257A
University of Cambridge
vas45@cam.ac.uk
Project Title: Molluscan biomineralisation: development, repair and evolution

Sloboda, Roger
Whitman Center Scientist
6/16/2018 – 8/31/2018
Lillie 121
Dartmouth College
rds@dartmouth.edu
Project Title: Studies on the Enzymology of Flagellar Dynamics

Takahashi, Naoya
Grass Fellow
5/28/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 201
Humboldt University of Berlin
n.takahashi0906@gmail.com
Project Title: Visualizing top-down signals in space and time in behaving mice

Tamm, Sidney
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 9/30/2018
Rowe 113
tamm@bu.edu
Project Title: Ctenophore Biology

Terasaki, Mark
Whitman Center Scientist
5/15/2018 – 9/15/2018
Lillie 216, 217
University of Connecticut Health Center
terasaki@uchc.edu
Project Title: Sea urchin egg ultrastructure during fertilization

Tytell, Eric
Whitman Center Scientist
6/30/2018 – 8/18/2018
Rowe 301, 303
Tufts University
eric.tytell@tufts.edu
Project Title: Comparative analysis of locomotor biomechanics and control in fishes

Vissers, Caroline
Grass Fellow
5/28/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 201
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
cvissers@jhmi.edu
Project Title: m6A mRNA methylation regulates oscillation of fate-determining transcription factors in neural stem cells

Wagner, Denisa
Whitman Center Fellow
6/15/2018 – 8/23/2018
Rowe 306
Boston Children’s Hospital
denisa.wagner@childrens.harvard.edu
Project Title: Role and localization of peptidylarginine deiminase 4 (PAD4) during neutrophil extracellular trap (NET) formation

Watanabe, Shigeki
Whitman Center Fellow
6/10/2018 – 8/5/2018
Lillie 215
Johns Hopkins University
shigeki.watanabe@jhmi.edu
Project Title: Plasticity of sensory systems

Waterman, Clare
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 8/17/2018
Rowe 305, 306
National Institute of Health (NIH)
watermancm@nhlbi.nih.gov
Project Title: Cellular mechanisms of neutrophil netosis

Willett, Jaime
Grass Fellow
5/27/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 201
North Carolina State University
jawillet@ncsu.edu
Project Title: Electrophysiological analysis of estrous cycle-dependent variation in female rat striatal medium spiny neuron synaptic plasticity

Yoshida, Junichi
Grass Fellow
5/28/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 201
Tamagawa University
jun.y.neurosci@gmail.com
Project Title: The role of the cerebellum under motor inhibition

Yuste, Rafael
Whitman Center Fellow
6/22/2018 – 9/3/2018
Rowe 210, 211
Columbia University
rmy5@columbia.edu
Project Title: The HydraLab: Experimental and Computational Methods for Neural Circuit Analysis

Zimmerberg, Joshua
Whitman Center Scientist
6/1/2018 – 9/30/2018
Rowe 310
National Institute of Health (NIH)
joshz@helix.nih.gov
Project Title: Probing the membrane stability of a free edge created in the membrane of the giant axon of the Woods Hole squid.

Zottoli, Steven
Whitman Center Scientist
5/1/2018 – 9/1/2018
Rowe 213
Williams College
Steven.j.zottoli@williams.edu
Project Title: Effects of environmental changes on the central nervous system of fishes