October 21, 2014

Biosafety Committee

As required under guidelines from the National Institutes of Health, the MBL’s Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) reviews MBL research that involves the use of parasites, recombinant DNA, and materials requiring biosafety precautions. IBC responsibilities and research areas requiring approval are described on the NIH website.

NIH Biosafety Guidelines
MBL’s Environmental Health & Safety Office
The Environmental Health & Safety (EH&S) Office at the MBL is responsible for radiation safety, chemical safety, occupational health and safety, chemical and biological waste management, biosafety/rDNA research, and environmental compliance. Researchers must contact the EH&S Office in advance if they wish to use radioactive materials or acutely hazardous chemicals and we encourage you to become familiar the MBL’s Biological Safety Handbook while actively engaged in scientific research at the MBL.

Registration Forms:

Please return all completed forms to biosafety@mbl.edu

Joel Smith
IBC Chair
(508) 289-7253
Barbara Burbank
IBC Recording Secretary
(508) 289-7700

MBL Biosafety Committee

Federal Regulations (NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant or Synthetic Nucleic Acid Molecules) require that membership of the IBC include at a minimum, five members, who collectively have experience in general issues of laboratory biosafety, use of infectious materials, and expertise in recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecule technology and the capability to assess the safety of such research and identify any potential risk to public health or the environment. The membership requirement includes, but is not limited to: a faculty member with expertise in plant, plant pathogen, or plant pest containment principles; a faculty member with expertise in animal containment principles, gene therapy in animals, viral pathogens and vectors, microbial pathogens, biotoxins and biotechnology; a member of the laboratory technical staff; and two members not affiliated with the institution (apart from their membership on the committee) who represent the interest of the surrounding community with respect to health and protection of the environment.

The 2014 MBL Biosafety Committee roster includes the following seven voting, and two non-voting, members:

Joel Smith, Chair
MBL Assistant Scientist and Associate Director of Education
jcsmith@mbl.edu

Christine Brothers, Non-Affiliated Member
Falmouth High School, Science Department Head
cbrothers@falmouth.k12.ma.us

Zoe Cardon, Plant Expert
MBL Senior Scientist, Ecosystems Center
zcardon@mbl.edu

Jonathan Gitlin
MBL Senior Scientist and Director of the Office of Research & Programs
jgitlin@mbl.edu

Susan Kilmer (non-voting member)
Senior Grants Coordinator, Office of Sponsored Programs
skilmer@mbl.edu

Alan Kuzirian, Animal Expert
MBL Associate Scientist and IACUC Chair
akuzirian@mbl.edu

James Marcello (non-voting member)
Environmental Health & Safety Officer
jmarcello@mbl.edu

Mark Messerli, Technical Staff
MBL Assistant Scientist and Manager, BioCurrents Shared Resource
mmesserli@mbl.edu

John Waterbury, Non-Affiliated Member
WHOI Associate Scientist, Biology Department
jwaterbury@whoi.edu