Marine Biological Laboratory Trustees Elect Four New Members

Peter Barbey, Walter Massey, Ronald O’Hanley, Patrice Yarbough begin four-year terms

WOODS HOLE, Mass. – The Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL) Board of Trustees has elected four new members: Peter D. Barbey, Walter E. Massey, Ronald P. O’Hanley, and Patrice O. Yarbough. They began their four-year terms in the summer of 2021.

peter-barbey-smPeter Barbey
Peter Barbey is former CEO and president of Reading Eagle Company, a media company that owned The Village Voice, the Reading Eagle newspaper, and radio station WEEU-AM. He is an heir to John Barbey, a banker who in 1899 started Reading Glove and Mitten Manufacturing Company – now VF Corporation, one of the world’s largest apparel firms with brands including Lee, North Face, Vans, and Wrangler. Barbey and his wife guide the Edwin Barbey Charitable Trust which provides funds for a range of causes, including human rights, arts and culture, and science and medicine. Barbey is a trustee of the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights organization. He earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of Arizona and an MBA from Arizona State University.

wem-headshot-high-res-500pxWalter E. Massey
Walter Massey is senior advisor to the president of the University of Chicago, chairman of the Giant Magellan Telescope Organization, and chair of the board of trustees of the City Colleges of Chicago. He is the chancellor and former president of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and former chair of the Association of Independent Colleges of Art and Design. Massey is a former president of Morehouse College and former head of the National Science Foundation and Argonne National Laboratory. He has served on the boards of numerous philanthropic organizations and foundations in the civic, social, cultural, and educational spaces. Massey earned his bachelor’s degree from Morehouse College and a PhD in Physics from Washington University.

ohanley-smRonald P. O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley is chairman and CEO of State Street Corporation. Since 2017, he has served as vice president, president and COO, and president and CEO. O’Hanley was previously president and CEO of State Street Global Advisors. Prior to State Street, he was president of Asset Management & Corporate Services for Fidelity Investments. O’Hanley previously served in numerous leadership roles at Mellon and Bank of New York Mellon and McKinsey & Company, Inc. His philanthropic and civic interests include corporate governance, retirement/healthcare policy and funding, education, and climate. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Syracuse University and his MBA from Harvard Business School. He is an honorary professor at the University of Edinburgh School of Management.

yarbough-smPatrice O. Yarbough
Patrice Yarbough is a senior scientist at NASA Johnson Space Center, a contractor to NASA’s Human Research Program employed by KBRwyle. She is the principal investigator for research projects in the Human Exploration Research Analog (HERA), an isolation habitat for simulated, long-duration space missions at Johnson Space Center. She received NASA’s 2020 Silver Achievement Medal for her outstanding leadership in the HERA program.  Prior to her work with NASA, Yarbough was director of Strategic Research Collaborations at the University of Texas Medical Branch, and a scientist and research director in the biotechnology industry. Through her leadership in several organizations, Yarbough is dedicated to helping women participate in science, technology, and mathematics at all stages of their careers and is a long-standing member of the Association for Women in Science.  She earned her bachelor’s degree and her PhD in biochemistry from the University of Houston and is alumna of the MBL Physiology course.

Other members of the MBL Board of Trustees include Robert J. Zimmer, Chair; Saul J. Pannell, Vice Chair; Lori A. Berko, Secretary; Nipam H. Patel, MBL Director, David B. Fithian; Margaret J. Fofonoff; James N. Galloway; David A. Greene; Avram Hershko, H. David Hibbitt; William I. Huyett; Constance T. Keller; Christopher G. Kennedy, Ka Yee C. Lee; Ethan A. Lerner; William A. Linton; John W. McCarter, Jr.; Juan de Pablo, John W. Rowe; William T. Speck; Timothy A. Springer; Samme L. Thompson; and Dyann F. Wirth.


The Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL) is dedicated to scientific discovery – exploring fundamental biology, understanding marine biodiversity and the environment, and informing the human condition through research and education. Founded in Woods Hole, Massachusetts in 1888, the MBL is a private, nonprofit institution and an affiliate of the University of Chicago.