2019 Whitman Directory

Parkinson, Rachel
rachel.parkinson@usask.ca
Grass Fellow
University of Saskatchewan
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
Effects of insecticides on wide-field visual motion detection and optomotor behaviours in the honeybee

Baltussen, Lucas
lucas.baltussen@crick.ac.uk
Grass Fellow
The Francis Crick Institute
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
Early synchronised network activity in CDKL5 KO mice

Hong, Kate
ykatehong@gmail.com
Grass Fellow
Columbia University
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
Parallel circuits for sensory-guided behavior

Cocas, Laura
lcocas@scu.edu
Grass Fellow
Santa Clara University
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
The Role Of Synaptic Adhesion Proteins In Neuronal Glial Connectivity And Myelination

Chen, Ruidong
chenruidong9@gmail.com
Grass Fellow
Cornell University
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
Fast escape behavior and its neural basis in the octopus

Gutierrez Ibanez, Cristian
cgutierr@ualberta.ca
Grass Fellow
University of Alberta
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
Neural Control of Wing Coordination in birds

Ondracek, Janie
janie.ondracek@tum.de
Grass Fellow
Technical University of Munich
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
The emergence of sleeping brain dynamics throughout evolution and development

Hawk, Josh
jsh.hawk@gmail.com
Grass Fellow
Yale University
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
Synthetic Synaptic Biology: Creating Tools to Re-wire Neural Circuitry

Fecher, Caroline
caroline.fecher@tum.de
Grass Fellow
Technical University of Munich
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
Mitochondrial contribution to Store-operated Calcium Entry in cerebellar Purkinje Neurons

Gonzalez-Gonzalez, Maria
galexa.inb@gmail.com
Grass Fellow
University of Texas at Dallas
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
New Cerebellar-Autonomic Circuits for closed-loop Neuromodulation in Hypertension

Maienschein, Jane
maienschein@asu.edu
MBL Fellow
Arizona State University
L-228
1/1/2019-12/31/2019
McDonnell Regeneration Project

Ragsdale, Clifton
cragsdale@uchicago.edu
MBL Fellow
Univeristy of Chicago
R-221
6/3/2019-8/23/2019
The MRC squid genomes- are there gene regulatory networks that are specific for cephalopod novelties?

La Riviere, Patrick
pjlarivi@uchicago.edu
MBL Fellow
University of Chicago
L-219
6/28/2019-8/10/2019
Development of three-dimensional polarized fluorescence microscopy

Gladfelter, Amy
amyglad@unc.edu
MBL Fellow
UNC Chapel Hill
L-225/226
6/15/2019-8/25/2019
Analysis of the mycobiome of coral

Shroff, Hari
drbar314@gmail.com
MBL Fellow
NIH
L-219
6/24/2019-6/27/2019
Imaging Initiative help/interface with Neurobiology course

Colon-Ramos, Daniel
daniel.colon-ramos@yale.edu
MBL Fellow
Yale University School of Medicine
L-219
6/29/2019-7/28/2019
Building a brain observatory at MBL

Watanabe, Shigeki
shigeki.watanabe@jhmi.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
Johns Hopkins University
L-215
06/09/2019-08/11/2019
Molecular mechanisms of synaptic transmission in zebrafish photoreceptors

Gat, Uri
uri.gat@mail.huji.ac.il
Whitman Center Fellow
Hebrew University in Jerusalem
Echeverri Lab
08/05/2019-09/27/2019
A comparative study between two highly regenerative aquatic model animals The function of Cthrc genes in the regeneration programs of the salamander Axolotl and the sea anemone Nematostella

Gross, Jeffrey
grossjm@pitt.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Horb Lab
06/26/2019-08/12/2019
Regeneration of the zebrafish retinal pigment epithelium

Redding, Sy
syeugene.redding@ucsf.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
University of California San Francisco
L-214
06/15/2019-08/19/2019
Is protein aggregation important biology?

Wagner, Denisa
denisa.wagner@childrens.harvard.edu
Whitman Center Fellow-Nikon Fellow
Boston Children’s Hospital
R-205/205
06/02/2019-08/11/2019
Delineation of the role of the NLRP3 inflammasome in NETosis by time-lapse microscopy

Sleight, Victoria
vas45@cam.ac.uk
Whitman Center Fellow
University of Cambridge
L-104/105
05/20/2019-07/15/2019
Molluscan biomineralization: development, repair and evolution

Yuste, Rafael
rmy5@columbia.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
Columbia University
R-210/211/212
06/01/2019-08/10/2019
HydraLab 2019: Experimental and Computational Methods for Neural Circuit Analysis

Zakas, Christina
christinazakas@gmail.com
Whitman Center Fellow
New York University
Ozpolat Lab
05/25/2019-07/31/2019
Establishing Transgenic Lines in Streblospio benedicti, a New Model for Evolutionary Developmental Biology

Wilbanks, Elizabeth
ewilbanks@ucsb.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
University of California Santa Barbara
L-104/105
06/15/2019-08/11/2019
Microbiomes from genotype to phenotype: Assessing the effect of strain-level bacterial diversification on cryptic sulfur cycling in the pink berry microbial consortia

Redemann, Stefanie
sz5j@virginia.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
University of Virginia
L-118
06/17/2019-08/18/2019
Studying spindle mechanics by light microscopy, electron tomography, biophysical modeling and simulation

Schön, Isa
ischoen@naturalsciences.be
Whitman Center Fellow
Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences
Arkhipova Lab
07/29/2019-09/14/2019
Developing ostracods as emerging aquatic model organisms for evolutionary and biodiversity research

Maddox, Paul
pmaddox@unc.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
UNC-CH
L-220
06/12/2019-08/13/2019
LITE imaging of cell division

Miller, Rachel
rachel.k.miller@uth.tmc.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
The University of Texas Medical School at Houston
Horb Lab
07/14/2019-08/24/2019
Strategies to Advance the Study of Kidney Development in Xenopus

Gomes, Edgar
edgargomes@medicina.ulisboa.pt
Whitman Center Fellow
Instituto Medicina Molecular
R206/207
06/25/2019-08/23/2019
Moving the cell nucleus in migrating cells

Udvadia, Ava
audvadia@uwm.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
Echeverri Lab
06/10/2019-07/21/2019
Elucidating evolutionarily conserved mechanisms regulating successful optic nerve regeneration in vertebrate species

Laissue, Philippe
plaissue@essex.ac.uk
Whitman Center Fellow
University of Essex
L-118A
07/23/2019-08/28/2019
Developing models for integral studies of coral bleaching and recovery

McCoy, Matthew
mccoy@wustl.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
Stanford University
L-118E
06/02/2019-07/28/2019
The role of gene complexity in generating neuronal diversity within cephalopod nervous systems

Herbert, Amy
amyherbert@wustl.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
Stanford University
L-118
06/02/2019-07/28/2019
Sea robins as a model for the genetic basis of novel traits in vertebrates

Fenton, Andre
afenton@nyu.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
New York University
R-209
06/09/2019-08/18/2019
Starting to integrate across levels of biology to understand how silencing a gene causes intellectual disability and autism

Shekhar, Shashank
shashank.shekhar@yahoo.com
Whitman Center Fellow
Brandeis University
R-301
06/01/2019-07/31/2019
Unraveling the physical origins of multicellularity using a novel model organism

Kee, Hooi Lynn
hkee@stetson.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
Stetson University
L-341
06/02/2019-08/11/2019
Investigating the Microbial Rainbow of Iridescent Marine Bacteria

Christiaen, Lionel
lc121@nyu.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
New York University
MRC 306A
Novel tools for functional genomics using the chordate model Ciona

Wardill, Trevor
twardill@umn.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
University of Minnesota
Hanlon Lab
6/23/2019-7/26/2019
Predictive control of eye movements and strike accuracy in the cuttlefish brain

Simakov, Oleg
oleg.simakov@univie.ac.at
Whitman Center Fellow
University of Vienna
R-221
6/3/2019-8/23/2019
The MRC squid genomes – are there gene regulatory networks that are specific for cephalopod novelties?

Crawford, Karen
kcrawford@smcm.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
St. Mary’s College of Maryland
MRC 306B
6/10/2019-8/19/2019

Baskin, Tobias
baskin@umass.edu
Whitman Center Fellow
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Oldenbourg Lab
6/3/2019-8/9/2019
Optimizing genome editing methods for Doryteuthis pealei: Building upon the successful generation of the first CRISPR-Cas9 gene knock outs from summer 2018

Evans, Ben
evansb@mcmaster.ca
Whitman Center Fellow
McMaster
Horb Lab
6/15/2019-8/9/2019
Mechanisms of rapidly evolving sex determination in frogs

Brady, Scott
stbrady@uic.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Univerisity of Illinois at Chicago
R-108
06/01/2019-08/31/2019
Molecular Mechanisms of Axonal Transport and Neurodegeneration

Dupre, Christophe
christophe.dupre@gmail.com
Whitman Center Scientist
Harvard University
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
5/27/2019-8/31/2019
Scalability in the nervous system of Hydra

Gerlich, Daniel
daniel.gerlich@imba.oeaw.ac.at
Whitman Center Scientist
Institute of Molecular Biotechnology (IMBA) Vienna
L-227
06/28/2019-08/10/2019
How chromosomes build a cell nucleus after mitosis – a microrheology approach

Waterman, Clare
watermancm@nhlbi.nih.gov
Whitman Center Scientist
NIH/NHLBI
R-205/206
06/03/2019-08/16/2019
Cytoskeletal Mechanisms Regulating Nuclear Envelope Integrity

Green, William
wgreen@uchicago.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
University of Chicago
R-219
06/22/2019-08/10/2019
Nicotine and Golgi framentation

Goshima, Gohta
goshima@bio.nagoya-u.ac.jp
Whitman Center Scientist
Nagoya University
L-106/107
7/2/2019-7/21/2019

Fleidervish, Ilya
ilya@bgu.ac.il
Whitman Center Scientist
Ben Gurion University
R-208
06/14/2019-08/30/2019
Ionic fluxes and excitability of cortical myelinated axons

Hershko, Avram
hershko@technion.ac.il
Whitman Center Scientist
Technion Facullty of Medicine
R-311
07/04/2019-09/08/2019
Control of cell division by ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation

Ross, William
ross@nymc.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
New York Medical College
R-208
05/25/2019-09/01/2019
Sodium and calcium imaging of axonal and dendritic function in pyramidal neurons

Costello, Jack
costello@providence.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Providence College – MBL
R-301
06/15/2019-08/25/2019
Quantifying the trophic roles of epipelagic ctenophore

Chang, Fred
fred.chang@ucsf.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
University of California San Francisco
L-223
06/24/2019-07/14/2019
Measuring cytoplasmic density in living cells

Gillis, Andrew
jag93@cam.ac.uk
Whitman Center Scientist
University of Cambridge
Lb-257G
5/31/2019-8/31/2019
Skeletal development in the little skate (Leucoraja erinacea) and evolution of the vertebrate body plan

Morfini, Gerardo
gmorfini@uic.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
University of Illinois at Chicago
R-109
07/01/2019-08/31/2019
Axonal transport mechanisms in health and disease

Kaczmarek, Leonard
leonard.kaczmarek@yale.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Yale University School of Medicine
R-213
06/09/2019-09/14/2019
Synaptic Plasticity in brainstem neurons

Jonas, Elizabeth
elizabeth.jonas@yale.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Yale University School of Medicine
R-213
07/01/2019-08/11/2019
Mitochondrial ion channels in synaptic plasticity

Colin, Sean
scolin@rwu.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Roger Williams University
R-301
05/20/2019-08/30/2019
Trophic roles of epipelagic ctenophores

Mensinger, Allen
amensing@d.umn.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
University of Minnesota Duluth
MRC 306 B/C
05/10/2019-09/10/2019
Toadfish sensory physiology

Kaupp, U. Benjamin
u.b.kaupp@caesar.de
Whitman Center Scientist
Research Center CAESAR
R-219
06/20/2019-08/22/2019
Chemotactic signaling pathway in sea urchin sperm

Goldman, Robert
r-goldman@northwestern.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
R-205
05/27/2019-08/30/2019
Cytoskeletal and Nucleoskeletal Mechanisms Responsible for Nuclear Envelope Dynamics in Neutrophils

Terasaki, Mark
terasaki@uchc.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
UCHC
L-216/217
05/20/2019-09/15/2019
serial section electron microscopy of sea urchin egg endoplasmic reticulum

Malchow, Robert
paulmalc@uic.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
University of Illinois at Chicago
L-118F
07/03/2019-08/17/2019
The Role of Extracellular H+ in Processing Visual Signals

Zottoli, Steven
steven.j.zottoli@williams.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Williams College
L-213
05/01/2019-09/01/2019
Effects of environmental changes on the central nervous system of fishes

Kimura, Akatsuki
akkimura@nig.ac.jp
Whitman Center Scientist
National Institute of Genetics
L-106/107
07/02/2019-07/31/2019
Understanding the genetic mechanism for force generation to position nucleus using centrifuge polarized microscope (CPM)

Martinez-Acosta, Veronica
vgmartin@uiwtx.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Univ. of the Incarnate Word
MRC 306 B/C
06/08/2019-08/17/2019
Photoreception in Lumbriculus variegatus, an aquatic annelid.

Buxbaum, Joseph
joseph.buxbaum@mssm.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Mount Sinai
L-114
06/30/2019-08/25/2019
Large-scale transcriptomics analyses

Zimmerberg, Joshua
joshz@helix.nih.gov
Whitman Center Scientist
NIH
L-104/105
06/01/2019-10/01/2019
Study of protein/lipid interactions in isolated synaptosomes of Loligo

Khodakhah, Kamran
k.khodakhah@einstein.yu.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
R-310
06/15/2019-09/08/2019
Impaired homeostatic plasticity as a common pathophysiology in ASD-linked gene mutations, and establishing a marine model to explore the impact of hypoxia on fish

Bennett, Michael
michael.bennett@einstein.yu.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
Albert Einstein Coll.Med.
Library Office
06/14/2019-09/13/2019
Continuing study of intercelllular communication

Coleman, Melissa
mcoleman@kecksci.claremont.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
W.M. Keck Science Dept. of the Claremont Colleges
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
05/27/2019-09/02/2019
Neural song preference in paired and unpaired female finches

Gribkoff, Valentin
gribkoffv@aol.com
Whitman Center Scientist
Yale University School of Medicine
R-213
6/24/2019-9/20/2018
The role of mitochondrial efficiency in synaptic function and plasticity

Prendergast, Brian
prendergast@uchicago.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
University of Chicago
R-220
07/06/2019-8/17/2019
Striped bass as a novel marine model in behavioral neurobiology

Laurent, Gilles
gilles.laurent@brain.mpg.de
Whitman Center Scientist
Max Planck Institute for Brain Research
Grass Lab (Rowe 201)
7/6/2019-7/27/2019
Forbes Lecturer

Holmgren, Miguel
holmgren@ninds.nih.gov
Whitman Center Scientist
NINDS/NIH
R-308
04/27/2019-10/26/2019
Membrane Protein Synthesis in Squid Axons

Roll-Mecak, Antonina
Antonina@mail.nih.gov
Whitman Center Scientist
National Institutes of Health
R-308
07/18/2019-08/25/2019
How tubulin diversity impacts microtubule mechanics and dynamics

Laufer, Hans
hans.laufer@uconn.edu
Whitman Center Scientist
University of Connecticut
L-118
06/15/2019- 09/20/2019
Effects of Endocrine Disrupting Alkylphenol in Lobsters, Homarus americanus, Horseshoe crabs, Limulus polyphemus and Macroalgae