2006 Fellows & Scholars

MBL Summer Research Fellows
Twenty scientists have received fellowships totaling $303,867 to conduct research at the MBL this summer.

Ricardo Araneda
Columbia University
“Noradrenergic modulation of granule cell inhibitory activity in the olfactory bulb”

Eva Enders
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
“Effects of turbulent flow on the lateral line system of fishes”

Ilya Fleidervish
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
“The role of late sodium channels in dynamic control of neuronal integration”

Fabrizio Gabbiani
Baylor College of Medicine
“Characterization of local membrane properties and action potential backpropagation within the dendritic tree of a looming sensitive neuron”

Maria Gomez
Boston University School of Medicine
“Mechanisms of extra-synaptic neurotransmitter release”

Mia Horowitz
Tel Aviv University
“Imaging EHDs and their interacting proteins”

William Jeffery
University of Maryland
“Evolutionary origin of neural crest stem cells”

Matthew Kreitzer
Indiana Wesleyan University
“Regulation of hydrogen flux from cone and rod horizontal cells”

Matthias Landgraf
The University of Cambridge
“Imaging the development of neural activity patterns during the acquisition of embryonic motor behavior”

Katsuya Miyake
Medical College of Georgia
“Resealing of plasma membrane disruptions in sea urchin eggs”

Ronald Pethig
University of Wales, Bangor
“Construction and studies of artificially engineered pancreatic beta-cell assemblies”

Jonathon Pines
University of Cambridge
“The role of cyclin-Cdks in cell division”

Anton Post
Hebrew University
“Niche adaptation and evolution of marine cyanobacteria”

Omar Quintero
Franklin and Marshall College
“Myosin 19 in a novel myosin involved in mitochondrial movement”

Daphne Soares
University of Maryland
“Regeneration in the visual system of the blind cave fish Astyanax mexicanus”

Jason Swedlow
University of Dundee
“Tracking kineotchores in living cells”

Kevin Vaughan
University of Notre Dame
“Isoform-specific targeting of cytoplasmic dynein in neurons”

Harold Zakon
The University of Texas
“Cloning of myogenic genes from highly derived muscles of fish”

Grass Fellows
Eleven young scientists have been awarded fellowships by the Grass Foundation to conduct research in neurobiology at the MBL this summer. The program is directed by Catherine Carr, University of Maryland. Jennifer Morgan, Bowdoin College, serves as associate director.

Joshua Pope Bassett, Ph.D.
New York University School of Medicine
“Identifying the site of velocity storage integration: A comparative approach using species with distinct oculomotor behaviors”

María Esmeralda Castelló Gómez, Ph.D.
Instituto de Investigaciones Biológicas Clemente Estable
“Comparative study of the fast electrosensory pathway of electric fish: A multilevel approach”

Adam D. Douglass
University of California, San Francisco
“Optical studies of neuronal connectivity and plasticity in the retinotectal system of zebrafish”

Alfredo Gustavo Fort, B.Sc., M.Sc.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
“Gap junction subunit trafficking via microtubule-dependent motor systems”

Joshua W. Gatson, M.S.
University of North Texas / Health Science Center at Fort Worth
“The role of the androgen receptor in estrogen-induced neuroprotection”

J. Matthew Kittelberger, Ph.D.
Cornell University
“The midbrain preiaqueductal gray and vocal patterning in a teleost fish”

Wayne J. Korzan, Ph.D.
Stanford University
“Behavioral and hormonal responses to agonistic interaction in the toadfish”

Snezana Levic
University of California, Davis
“Spontaneous action potential activity in developing vertebrate hair cells: Control of pattern and efficacy of synaptic transfer”

Heather J. Rhodes, Ph.D.
Boston University
“Searching for the central pattern generator in the vocal system of Xenopus laevis”

Jason Shepherd
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
“The role of BCL-2 family proteins in post-synaptic transmission and plasticity”

Mark Verdecia, Ph.D.
SUNY Stony Brook
“Brittlestar fluorescence as a unique long-term indicator of in vivo neuronal activity”

Science Journalism Fellows
Twelve science reporters, producers, and editors have been awarded Science Journalism Fellowships at the Marine Biological Laboratory this summer.

Biomedical Course:
Allan Coukell, WBUR-FM
Susan Kruglinski, Discover magazine
Natasha Mitchell, Australian Broadcasting Corp.
Gary Robbins, Orange County Register
Susanne Rust, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Corinna Wu, AAAS Science Update

Environment Course:
Marc Airhart, Earth & Sky
Anton Caputo, San Antonio Express News
Mary Engel, Los Angeles Times
Richard Hollingham, BBC
Jim Metzner, Pulse of the Planet
Molly Murray, The News Journal

Albert and Ellen Grass Faculty Awards
Four investigators have been awarded Grass Faculty Awards at the MBL this summer. The goal of this Program is to take advantage of the collaborative environment of the MBL and bring together neuroscientists at the Assistant or Associate Professor level from different institutions to work together to conduct specific research in neuroscience.

Farzan Nadim of NJIT/ Rutgers University and Wolfgang Stein of Universitaet Ulm, will collaborate on a project titled “Proprioceptive feedback to a motor pattern generating network.”

Elizabeth Jonas of Yale University and James Tong of the University of California, Irvine, will collaborate on a project titled “Mitochondrial code for learning and memory.”

Dart Scholars Program in Learning and Memory
Four scientists have been named Dart Scholars in Learning and Memory this summer. Sponsored by a generous grant from Dart Neuroscience, these awards bring top scientists in the field of learning and memory together to conduct research at the MBL for the summer.

William Frost
Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
“Optical recording studies of learning and memory in the marine mollusk Tritonia diomedea”

Wen-Biao Gan
New York University
“The role of visual experience in dendritic spine plasticity”

David Glanzman
University of California, Los Angeles
“Development of the zebrafish into a model organism for the cellular and molecular analysis of nonassociative memory”

Daniel Johnston
University of Texas, Austin
“Changes in dendritic excitability as a substrate for learning”