2007 Fellows & Scholars

MBL Summer Research Fellows
Seventeen scientists have received fellowships to conduct research at the MBL this summer.

Taner Akkin, University of Minnesota – Hartline-MacNichol Fellow
“Optical Detection of Neural Activity”

Alexander Bershadsky, Weizmann Institute of Science – Gruss Lipper Fellow
“Regulation of Cytoskeleton Dynamics and Cell Adhesion by Formin Homology Proteins”

Kerry Bloom, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill – Nikon Fellow
“Visualization of Centromere DNA in the Mitotic Spindle”

Chuan-Chin Chiao, National Tsing Hua University – Plum Island – Dowling Fellow
“Spatial Frequency Analysis of Visual Perception Underlying Cuttlefish Camouflage Patterning”

Gaudenz Danuser, Scripps Research Institute – Colwin Fellow
“Kinetochore Consortium: Image Analysis and Data Modeling”

Chris Fall, University of Illinois, Chicago
“Do IP3 Mediated Ca2+ Waves in Cortical Neurons Spread to Oblique Dendrites and Spines?”

Daniel Gerlich, ETH-Zurich – Colwin Fellow
“Defining Cytokinetic Abscission by Functional Live Cell Assays”

Mia Horowitz, Tel Aviv University – Gruss Lipper Fellow
“Studying EHDs from Different Organisms and their Interacting Proteins”

Andrew McAinsh, Marie Curie Research Institute – Colwin Fellow
“Analysis of Kinetochore Function by Quantitative Live Cell Imaging”

Karen McGlathery, University of Virginia
“Non-linear Feedbacks in Coupled elemental Cycles during Eutrophication of Shallow Coastal Ecosystems”

Patrick Meraldi, ETH-Zurich – Colwin Fellow
“Analysis of Kinetochore Function by Quantitative Live Cell Imaging”

Gerardo Morfini, University of Illinois, Chicago
“Identification of Axonal Kinase Activated in Huntington’s Disease”

Anthony Moss, Auburn University – Bell Fellow
“Cellular Mechanisms of Wound Repair in the Ctenophore Mnemiopsis leidyi”

Thomas Müller-Reichert, Max Planck Institute – Colwin Fellow
“Functional Organization of the Centrosome”

Eiichi Okumura, Tokyo Institute of Technology
“Mechanisms of Cdc25 Nuclear Accumulation at G2/M Phase Transition in Starfish Oocytes”

Anton Post, Hebrew University – Gruss Lipper Fellow
“Niche Adaptation and Evolution of Marine Cyanobacteria”

William Spain, University of Washington
“High Frequency Resonance in Neocortical Pyramidal Neurons: Regulation by Dendritic Input and K+ Channels”

Jason Swedlow, University of Dundee – Colwin Fellow
“The Kinetochore Consortium”

Grass Fellows
Eleven young scientists have been awarded fellowships by the Grass Foundation to conduct research in neurobiology at the MBL this summer. The program is directed by Catherine Carr, University of Maryland. Gal Haspel, NIH/NINDS, serves as associate director.

Robyn J. Crook
Brooklyn College (CUNY)
“Spatial Learning and Memory in Chambered Nautilus, Nautilus pompilius L.”

S. E. Roian Egnor, Ph.D.
Harvard University
“Vocal Behavior in the House Mouse (Mus musculus domesticus)”

Anna K. Greenwood, Ph.D.
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
“Characterization of the Neural Circuitry Underlying Distinct Anti-Predator Behaviors in Pufferfish”

Erwin Idoux, Ph.D.
Boston University
“Ontogeny of the Intrinsic Properties of the Neurons Responsible for the Velocity to Position Integration of Zebrafish (Danio rerio).”

Anthony Leonardo, Ph.D.
Harvard University
“Neuronal Circuit Dynamics Underlying Dragonfly Prey Capture”

Alex Loebel, M.S.
The Weizmann Institute of Science
“Rapid and Stable Propagation of Synchronized Ensemble Activity in Networks of Spiking Neurons with Short-Term Synaptic Depression”

Angélica María López-Rodríguez M.D.
Instituto de Neurobiologia-UNAM
“Structural Analysis by Freeze Fracture of Human p1 Receptors Produced in S. cerevisiae”

Karen P. Maruska M.S.
University of Hawaii at Manoa
“Rapid Effects of Stress Hormones on Auditory Processing and Vocalization Abilities in the Oyster Toadfish, Opsanus tau”

Theresa Marie Szabo, Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
“Temperature-related Hormonal Effects on Synaptic Transmission and Plasticity”

M. Jade Zee, Ph.D.
Cornell University
“In vitro Characterization of the Vocal Hindbrain Central Pattern Generator of a Teleost Fish”

Erik J. Zornik, Ph.D.
Boston University
“Generating Complex Vocal Patterns in Xenopus laevis”

Science Journalism Fellows
Eleven science reporters, producers, and editors have been awarded Science Journalism Fellowships at the Marine Biological Laboratory this summer.

Biomedical Course:

Corie Lok, Editor, Nature Network Boston
Brendan Maher, Senior Editor, The Scientist (Senior Editor, Nature, June 2007)
Stephanie Nano, Editor/Reporter, The Associated Press
Sally Palmer, Deputy Editor, BBC Focus magazine, UK
Tetsuro Yamada, Yomiuri Shimbun, Japan

Environment Course:

E. Anne Bolen, Managing Editor, Geotimes
Andrea Cross, Freelance Producer
Richard Friebe, Staff Writer, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ), Germany
Jude Isabella, Managing Editor, YES! magazine
Rosanne Skirble, Environment/Health Reporter, Voice of America
Peter Thomson, Acting Senior Producer, PRI’s Living on Earth

Albert and Ellen Grass Faculty Awards
Four investigators have been awarded Grass Faculty Awards at the MBL this summer. The goal of this Program is to take advantage of the collaborative environment of the MBL and bring together neuroscientists at the Assistant or Associate Professor level from different institutions to work together to conduct specific research in neuroscience.

Maurice Chacron of McGill University and Eric Fortune of Johns Hopkins University will collaborate on a project titled “Neural Mechanisms Underlying the Sparsification of a Neural Code.”

Ilya Fleidervish of Hebrew University and William Ross of NY Medical College will collaborate on a project titled “Sodium Fluxes and Excitability of Thin Neuronal Processes.”

Sonia Gaparini of LSU Health Center and Jeff Magee of Janelia Farm Res Campus/HHMI will collaborate on a project titled “Dendritic Mechanisms of Persistent Activity in Layer V Neurons of the Entorhinal Cortex.”

Dart Scholars Program in Learning and Memory
Four scientists have been named Dart Scholars in Learning and Memory this summer. Sponsored by a generous grant from Dart Neuroscience, these awards bring top scientists in the field of learning and memory together to conduct research at the MBL for the summer.

Moshe Bar, Harvard Medical School
“Predictions from Memory: A Principle Neurobiologial Function”

William Frost, Rosalind Franklin University
“Optical Recording Studies of Learning & Memory in the Marine Mollusc Tritonea diomedea”

Wen-Biao Gan, New York University
“Experience-dependent Plasticity of Dendritic Spines in Awake Mice”

Edgar Walters, University of Texas, Houston
“Memory-like alterations of Excitability in the Squid Giant Axon”