Advisory Bodies


The Marine Biological Laboratory benefits from the support, knowledge, and skills provided by the following key advisory groups.

+ Expand All | – Collapse All

President's Scientific Advisory Council

The President’s Scientific Advisory Council (P-SAC) is an external advisory group that advises the Marine Biological Laboratory’s senior management on matters pertaining to science at the MBL, both current and future, including the development and assessment of a research strategic plan, to establish the MBL as a world-leader in selected areas of science and education. P-SAC is a council of up to 10 members, appointed by the President and Director of the MBL and consisting of individuals known for scientific expertise and standing in their respective fields, combined with a thorough understanding of research management and strategy. Members of P-SAC provide advice on different research areas at the MBL, the MBL’s relationships to other institutions, and strategic integration across the MBL’s programs in both research and education.

baughmanRobert Baughman
Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University

cavanaughColleen Cavanaugh, Ph.D.
Harvard University

colwellRita R. Colwell, Ph.D.
University of Maryland

knowltonNancy Knowlton, Ph.D.
Smithsonian Institution

krumlaufRobert (Robb) Krumlauf, Ph.D.
Stowers Institute for Medical Research

lippincottJennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, Ph.D.
Howard Hughes Medical Institute – Janelia Research Campus

mullinsMary C. Mullins, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine

pageDavid C. Page, M.D.
Whitehead Institute

wirthDyann Wirth, Ph.D.
Harvard School of Public Health

MBL/UChicago Affiliation Advisory Committee

The AAC provides insight and advice to the leadership in both Chicago and Woods Hole on academic and scientific matters that impact both the research and educational missions of the UChicago/MBL affiliation. Membership is drawn from faculty at both institutions.

Current membership (2016):

Neil Shubin, Dept of Organismal Biology & Anatomy, UChicago (chair)
Conrad Gilliam, Dean for Research and Graduate Education, Biological Sciences Division, UChicago
Jonathan Gitlin, Director, Division of Research, MBL
Melina Hale, Dept of Organismal Biology & Anatomy, UChicago
Susan Kidwell, Dept of Geophysical Sciences, UChicago
Vicky Prince, Dept of Organismal Biology & Anatomy; Dean, Office of Graduate Affairs, UChicago
Matthew Tirrell, Director and Dean, Institute of Molecular Engineering, UChicago

Science Council of the MBL Society

The Science Council of the MBL Society is an advisory group consisting of not more than 15 scientists elected by Members of the MBL Society. The Science Council is one of the major advisory groups that provide their support, knowledge, and experience to the leadership of the MBL.

The Science Council is led by a Chair, who is elected by Science Council members in consultation with the MBL President/Director.

Members of the Science Council of the MBL Society (2018)

David Burgess (2020)
Zoe Cardon (2019)
Colleen Cavanaugh, ex officio
Bill Green (2018), Co-Chair
Elizabeth Jonas, (2020)
Len Kaczmarek, (2018)
Ed Rastetter (2018), Co-Chair
Josh Rosenthal (2020)
Roger Sloboda (2018)
Mitch Sogin (2019)
Clare Waterman (2020)

MBL Council

Members of the MBL Council are supporters of, ambassadors for, and advisors to the Marine Biological Laboratory. Council members actively seek to increase awareness and understanding of the MBL’s mission and to provide assistance and counsel to MBL leadership.

Donald R. Aukamp, Woods Hole, MA
David Bakalar, Chestnut Hill, MA
Timothy A. Barrows, Matrix Partners
John F. Batter, WilmerHale
George Berkowitz, Legal Sea Foods
Marianne Billings, Potomac, MD
Ed Brakeman, Bain Capital LLC
Joseph L. Dowling, The Rhode Island Eye Institute
Pamela L. Follett, Boxborough, MA
Jean-François Formela, Atlas Ventures
Craig B. Gibson, Lawrence General Hospital
Gary Jacobson, Westwood Pembroke Health System
Thomas P. Jalkut, Nutter McClennen & Fish LLP
Barbara W. Jones, Barbara Woll Jones Designer/Builder
Saul Kurlat, Kurlat Ventures
Deena G. Laties, Philadelphia, PA
George V. Lauder, Harvard University
Jennifer O. Letitia, IOMICS Pathways Initiative
Joseph S. Levine, Concord, MA
As of January 1, 2016
William K. Mackey, Mackey & Foster, PA
Dale Mathias, Washington, DC
Robert W. Pierce, Pierce Aluminum Co.
John Ripple, Ensemble Technologies and Permeon Biologics
David Schnell, Prospect Venture Partners
Cecily C. Selby, New York, NY
John Sigel, WilmerHale
Timothy A. Springer, Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Michael Stansky, Sudbury, MA
Carolyn Stimpson, Wachusett Mountain
Ann E. Sutherland, University of Virginia
Gerard L. Swope, Woods Hole, MA
John F. Swope, Concord, NH
Karen Tierney, Woods Hole, MA
Frederica W. Valois, Woods Hole, MA
John N. Vournakis, Marine Polymer Technologies
Nancy G. Wolf, Case Western Reserve University
Barbara Wu, Wilmette, IL

Decennial Review Committee

External reviews are critical to maintain the quality, standards, and performance of institutions and to position them to gain strength and perform at the highest levels of achievement. The Marine Biological Laboratory has undergone reviews every ten years since the early 1900’s, to evaluate our performance and our potential for the future in both research and education. Review committees are appointed by the Board of Trustees. Advisory reports are submitted to the President/Director and to the Board of Trustees and are used to provide strategic guidance to the MBL. Our most recent decennial review was held in 2015.