Advisory Bodies

Gemma by Megan Costello
Credit: Megan Costello

The Marine Biological Laboratory benefits from the support, knowledge, and skills provided by the following key advisory groups.

The Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL) invites qualified individuals to become members of the MBL Society. From its inception in 1888, the MBL Society has been guided by scientists who are invested in the MBL and its future. Under authority established by the Board of Trustees, members of the MBL Society serve in an advisory capacity and as a resource to provide scientific and other guidance at the request of the MBL leadership.

The MBL Society has hundreds of Members and Emeritus Members, who comprise scientists, dedicated alumni, and committed and informed friends with a history of discovery at, commitment to, and interest in the MBL and its programs.

Read more about the MBL Society

The Science Council of the MBL Society is an advisory group consisting of not more than 15 scientists elected by Members of the MBL Society. The Science Council is an advisory group that advises the President/Director with respect to matters concerning MBL’s mission and its scientific and instructional endeavors.

The Science Council is led by a Co-Chairs, who are elected by Science Council members in consultation with the MBL Director.

More information on the Science Council can be found in the MBL Science Council Charter, the Bylaws and the MBL Society Membership and Procedures document.

Members of the Science Council of the MBL Society (2023)

John Costello (07/2020-06/2024)
William Green (07/2020-06/2024)
Amy Maddox (07/2020-06/2024)
Blair Paul (07/2021-06/2024)
William Reznikoff (07/2020-06/2024)
Joe Vallino (07/2021-06/2024)
Denisa Wagner (07/2021-06/2024)
Stephanie White (07/2020-06/2024) 

The MBL Community Council is an advisory group consisting of not more than 15 members elected by Members of the MBL Society in good standing. The role of the MBL Community Council is to advise the MBL President/Director and Chief Operating Officer upon their request on general aspects of MBL community life connected to and essential for the MBL research and education missions, but not the research or education missions themselves. This includes, for example, housing, childcare, facilities, campus life, and Woods Hole/Falmouth community relations.

The Community Council is led by Co-Chairs, who are elected by Community Council members in consultation with the MBL Director.

More information on the Community Council can be found in the MBL Community Council Charter, the Bylaws and the MBL Society Membership and Procedures document.

Members of the Community Council of the MBL Society (2023)

Joseph DeGiorgis (07/2020-06/2024)
Christine Field (07/2020-06/2024)
Louis Kerr (07/2020-06/2024)
Paul Maddox (07/2021-07/2024)
Veronica Martinez Acosta (07/2021-07/2024)
Elena Peredo (07/2021-07/2024)
Ann Stuart (07/2020-06/2024)
Cristina Roman-Vendrell (07/2020-06/2023)

Email the Community Council

Members of the MBL Council are supporters of, ambassadors for, and advisors to the Marine Biological Laboratory. Council members actively seek to increase awareness and understanding of the MBL’s mission and to provide assistance and counsel to MBL leadership.

David Bakalar, Chestnut Hill, MA
Timothy A. Barrows, Matrix Partners
John F. Batter, WilmerHale
Joshua B. Bernstein, Bernstein Management Corporation
Duke Cameron, Massachusetts General Hospital
David X. Cohen, Los Angeles, CA
Catherine Cramer, The Woods Hole Institute
Barbara H. Deptula, AMAG Pharmaceuticals
Christopher D. Earl, Innotrove LLC
Michael N. Fenlon, Sallop Insurance, Inc.
Andrew W. Fraley, Korro Bio, Inc.
Hortense Gerardo, Lasell College
Craig B. Gibson, Lawrence General Hospital
Alfred Goldberg, Harvard Medical School
Melina Hale, University of Chicago
Kenneth R. Holden, Mount Sinai Health System
Alice Huang, California Institute of Technology
Gary Jacobson, Westwood Pembroke Health System
Thomas P. Jalkut, Nutter McClennen & Fish, LLP
William Jeffery, University of Maryland, College Park
Brian Keck, ConAgra Foods, Inc., Retired

As of November 28, 2022

Camilla C. King, Fay School
Mark Koide, Anthony & Sylvan Pools
Joseph S. Levine, Concord, MA
Howard W. Lowy, Salem Hospital, Retired
Chafen Lu, Harvard Medical School
Anna Lysakowski, University of Illinois at Chicago
Aaron Mitchell, University of Georgia
Jim Olds, George Mason University
George O’Toole, Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth College
Jay Owens, Norwell, MA
Chee Pearlman, TED Conferences
Robert W. Pierce, Pierce Aluminum Co.
John Ripple, Exonics Therapeutics
David Scadden, Harvard Stem Cell Institute
Amy R. Segal, WilmerHale
John D. Sigel, WilmerHale
Rachel Somer, Newton, MA
Eric W. Speer, Westport, CT
Richard A. Spillane, Fidelity Investments, Retired
Carolyn Stimpson, Wachusett Mountain
John F. Swope, Concord, NH
Kevin Swope, Babson College
Kristin Swope, Red Nucleus
Karen Tierney, Woods Hole, MA
Stephen Uzzo, National Museum of Mathematics
Frederica W. Valois, Woods Hole, MA
Denisa Wagner, Boston Children’s Hospital
Philip H. Warren, SMW Advisors
Clare Waterman, National Institutes of Health
Nancy G. Wolf, Case Western Reserve University


Amy Gladfelter, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; MBL Whitman Center Scientist; MBL Fellow
Patrick La Riviere, University of Chicago; MBL Whitman Center Scientist; MBL Fellow

Committee Members:

Sara Abrahmsson, University of California Santa Cruz
Zoe Cardon, Marine Biological Laboratory
Ibrahim Cisse, MIT
Daniel Colòn-Ramos, Yale School of Medicine
Daniel Fletcher, UC Berkeley
Scott Fraser, University of Southern California
Amy Gladfelter*, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Bobby Kasthuri, University of Chicago
Louis Kerr, Marine Biological Laboratory
Paul Kulesa, Stowers Institute for Medical Research
Abhishek Kumar, MBL
Patrick La Rivière*, University of Chicago
Paul Maddox, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Rudolf Oldenbourg, Marine Biological Laboratory
Hari Shroff, National Institutes of Health
Heidi Sosik, WHOI
Clare Waterman, National Institutes of Health


  • Josh Rosenthal, Marine Biological Laboratory
  • Karen Echeverri, Marine Biological Laboratory

Committee Members:

  • Alejandro Sanchez Alvarado, Stowers Institute for Medical Research, HHMI
  • Abhishek Kumar, Marine Biological Laboratory
  • Amy Gladfelter, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Imaging Committee Liaison
  • James Olds, George Mason University
  • Jon Henry, Marine Biological Laboratory
  • Lisa Abbo, Marine Biological Laboratory Veterinarian, Staff Liaison
  • Mansi Srivastava, Harvard University
  • Marko Horb, Marine Biological Laboratory
  • Michael Levine, Princeton University
  • Mitch Sogin, Marine Biological Laboratory
  • Nicole King, University of California, Berkeley, HHMI
  • Nipam Patel, Marine Biological Laboratory Director
  • Patrick LaRiviere, University of Chicago, Imaging Committee Liaison
  • Paul Kulesa, Stowers
  • Vincent Pieribone, Yale School of Medicine

External reviews are critical to maintain the quality, standards, and performance of institutions and to position them to gain strength and perform at the highest levels of achievement. The Marine Biological Laboratory has undergone reviews every ten years since the early 1900’s, to evaluate our performance and our potential for the future in both research and education. Review committees are appointed by the Board of Trustees. Advisory reports are submitted to the President/Director and to the Board of Trustees and are used to provide strategic guidance to the MBL. Our most recent decennial review was held in 2015.