Summer Program in Neuroscience, Excellence and Success (SPINES)

Course Information

Watch SPINES WebinarCourse Date: June 14 – July 5, 2021

Deadline: TBD

2019 Course Schedule (XLS)

Directors: Gerald Downes, UMass Amherst; and Gina Poe, University of California, Los Angeles

Course Description

SPINES has had an outstanding 20+ year track record of training successful neuroscientists from backgrounds underrepresented in neuroscience to be leaders in the field, honing a variety of important professional skills, including communicating your science, winning grants, honing quantitative skills and preparing to be a top notch PI. The course attracts 20 leading faculty from across the country to teach our 15-20 students in a 3 week intensive immersion experience dedicated to creating and sustaining an outstanding diverse workforce in neuroscience. Travel, room, and board at MBL are covered.

Financial Information: All costs of participating in this course, including partial support for travel, will be provided.

2019 Course Faculty

Kevin Jones, University of Michigan
Carmen S. Maldonado-Vlaar, UPR-Rio Piedras
Gina Poe, UC-Los Angeles
Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, UT-San Antonio
Edward Kravitz, Harvard University
Eddie Castaneda, UT-El Paso
Jean King, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Mauricio Delgado, Rutgers University
Rebecca Calisi, UC-Davis
John Hildebrand, University of Arizona
Gerald Downes, Umass-Amherst
Dani Smith, Johns Hopkins University
Veronica Acosta, University of the Incarnate Word
Emma Coddington, Willamette University
Anne Etgen, Albert Eisntein College of Medicine
Elba Serrano, New Mexico State University
Sebastian Alvarado, Queens College
Josh Rosenthal, MBL
Jennifer Morgan, MBL