The Marine Biological Laboratory is proud to announce that MBL Senior Scientist Zoe Cardon has been elected a 2021 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Cardon joins 22 other members of MBL’s research, faculty and alumni communities that were also elected this year.

AAAS is honoring Cardon  "for distinguished contributions to the field of ecosystem biology, particularly for the role of plants and their microbial and soil partners in water and nutrient flows."

Election as an AAAS Fellow, a tradition that stretches back to 1874, is one of the most distinct honors within the scientific community. Fellows are recognized for achievements across many disciplines, ranging from research, teaching and technology to scientific administration to excellence in science communication. The AAAS is the world’s largest general society and publisher of the Science family of journals.

Cardon joined the MBL Ecosystems Center as a senior scientist in 2006. An ecosystems ecologist with roots in mechanistic plant physiology, Cardon examines how plants contribute to essential ecosystems function on Earth. Her work is interdisciplinary and collaborative; she is currently lead principal investigator on multiple collaborative grants, combining development of living microbial soil sensors, below-ground imaging, and stable isotope techniques with emerging systems modeling, organismal, and molecular sequencing (“omics”) approaches.

Anne Giblin, interim director of the MBL Ecosystems Center, said, “This is a very well-deserved honor. Zoe has done groundbreaking work and is one of the few scientists who is able to work at scales that range from the plant microbiome to the globe. She has brought new techniques to the MBL but, more importantly, she has brought new insights to our thinking about ecosystems science.”

Among the other 2021 AAAS Fellows are MBL Fellows Amy Gladfelter of University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; and Alejandro Sánchez Alvarado of the Stowers Institute/Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Both are also making significant contributions to science and to the MBL. Gladfelter, along with other members of the HHMI-MBL Summer Institute, was an early researcher in the groundbreaking field of biomolecular condensates, which she continues to explore. Sánchez Alvarado, an expert in regeneration, has been foundational in developing MBL’s strategic focus on developing new research organisms for biological discovery.

Congratulations to all of the 23 new AAAS Fellows with MBL affiliations, listed below:

  • Alejandro Sánchez Alvarado - MBL Fellow (2016 to present); Embryology course director (2012-2016), faculty (2005-2011, 2018-2021) and alumnus (1985)
  • Brendan Bohannan – Alumnus, Microbial Diversity (1997)
  • Paula E. Cohen – Faculty, Frontiers in Reproduction course (2010-2017)
  • Zoe Cardon – MBL senior scientist and faculty (2006 to present); member, MBL Society
  • Alan Decho – Alumnus, Microbial Ecology (1983)
  • Guoping Feng - Whitman Scientist (2019, 2021); Grass Fellow (1994, 1996)
  • Amy Gladfelter – MBL Fellow (2016 to present); Whitman Scientist (2010-2019, 2021); faculty, Physiology course (2016); faculty, Molecular Mycology (2013); alumna, Physiology course (1998), member, MBL Society
  • Viviana Gradinaru - Alumna, Methods in Computational Neuroscience (2009)
  • Carol C. Gregorio – Alumna, Analytical and Quantitative Light Microscopy course (1997); alumna, Molecular Evolution (1996)
  • Anne Hart - Faculty, Neural Systems & Behavior course (2008-2012); Faculty, Neurobiology course (1999-2003); member, MBL Society
  • Elizabeth Haswell – Faculty, Physiology course (2015)
  • Linda J. Kenney – Alumna, Physiology course (1986)
  • David L. Kirchman – Alumnus, Marine Ecology (1978)
  • Jessica Kissinger – Faculty, Biology of Parasitism (2001, 2008, 2009); alumna, Molecular Evolution (1990)
  • Monica Medina - Former MBL postdoctoral scientist; alumna, Advances in Genome Technology and Bioinformatics (2005); alumna, Embryology course (2001).
  • Axel Meyer – Faculty, Molecular Evolution (2000-2011); alumnus, Embryology course (1997)
  • Eduardo Rosa-Molinar – Faculty, Summer Program in Neuroscience, Excellence and Success (SPINES) (2019);  course director, Immunohistochemistry and Microscopy (2014-2017); awardee, Grass Imaging Award (2014);  alumnus, SPINES (1995); member, MBL Society
  • Brian Palenik – Faculty, Microbial Diversity (2001); alumnus, Molecular Evolution (1989)
  • Joel H. Rothman – Embryology course director (2002-2006) and faculty (1995-2001, 2007-2013)
  • Alexander Schier – Faculty, Zebrafish Development & Genetics (2009-2018)
  • Patrick Schloss – Faculty, Strategies and Techniques for Analyzing Microbial Population Structures (2011)
  • Peter Tiffin – Alumnus, Molecular Evolution (2000)
  • Karen Zito - Faculty, Neurobiology (2017, 2018); Grass Fellow (1999), Alumna, Optical Microscopy (1997)

Photo: MBL Senior Scientist and ecosystems ecologist Zoe Cardon. Credit: Dee Sullivan