The National Academy of Medicine announced this week the election of 90 regular members and 10 international members, including six scientists affiliated with the MBL as a trustee, researcher, and/or course faculty or alumnus.

Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine, recognizing individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

The MBL extends warm congratulations to:

  • Guoping Feng, MIT/Broad Institute, "For his breakthrough discoveries regarding the pathological mechanisms of neurodevelopmental and psychiatric disorders, providing foundational knowledges and molecular targets for developing effective therapeutics for mental illness such as OCD, ASD, and ADHD."
    • Grass Foundation Trustee (2023-Present)
    • Grass Foundation Associate Director (1996)
    • Grass Fellow (1994)
    • MBL Society member
  • Ursula B. Kaiser, Brigham and Women's Hospital/Harvard Medical School, "For being an internationally recognized leader in reproductive neuroendocrinology. Her major scientific accomplishments include the unraveling of genetic and molecular mechanisms controlling pubertal timing and gonadotropin-releasing hormone activation and the regulation of luteinizing hormone and follicle-stimulating hormone secretion."
    • Course Lecturer, Frontiers in Reproduction (2009-2012)
    • Course Faculty, Frontiers in Reproduction (2007)
  • Steven D. Leach, Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine, "For being an international leader in pancreatic cancer research, having made seminal research contributions in pancreatic cancer surgery, biology, genomics, and therapy over the past three decades."
    • Alumnus, Zebrafish Development and Genetics course (2002)
  • Jeannie T. Lee, Mass General Hospital/Harvard Medical School, "For research that has been central for understanding the roles of non-coding RNA in gene regulation. Using X-chromosome inactivation as a model, her investigations into extensive transcription of non-coding RNA are uncovering potential therapeutics to treat human diseases, including autism spectrum disorders, Rett Syndrome, and Fragile X Syndrome.”
    • Alumna, Analytical and Quantitative Light Microscopy course (1997)
  • Timothy Springer, Boston Children's Hospital/Harvard Medical School, "For his research on receptor-ligand interactions and transmembrane signal transmission that are relevant to immunology, hemostasis, and human disease using structural, cell biological, and single molecule techniques. Molecules studied include integrins and their ligands, TGF-β, the epidermal growth factor receptor, vaccine targets in malaria, and von Willebrand factor (4750)."
    • Trustee (2020-Present)
    • MBL Council member (2016-2020)
    • Whitman Scientist (2014-2016)
  • Rudolph Emile Tanzi, Harvard Medical School/Mass. General Hospital, "For being a pioneer and world leader in the areas of Alzheimer’s disease (AD), neurogenetics, and translating pathogenetic mechanisms underlying neurodegenerative diseases into novel therapeutics. He discovered numerous AD genes including the first three and developed the first complete human brain organoid model of AD, greatly accelerating drug discovery."
    • Course Faculty, Biology of Aging (1999-2002)