Nine of the 96 newly announced Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology have spent time at the Marine Biological Laboratory as researchers, course faculty or students. The new Fellows join the ranks of 2,500 scientists, many of whom have also been awarded Nobel Prizes, Lasker Awards, or the National Medal of Science.

Fellows have had outstanding careers of scientific achievement and have contributed to the body of knowledge within microbiology.

Below are the new Fellows who have been part of the MBL scientific community:

  • Leah Cowen, PhD, University of Toronto
  •  Paul Fidel, PhD, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Dentistry
    • Course faculty, Molecular Mycology (2004)
  •  Samantha Joye, PhD, University of Georgia
    • Whitman Scientist (1997,1999)
  •  Linda Kenney, PhD, University of Illinois-Chicago
  • Carole Long PhD, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease, NIH
  •  Katherine McMahon, PhD, University of Wisconsin
  •  Brian Palenik PhD, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD
  • Donald Sheppard, MD, McGill University
    • Whitman Scientist (2010)
    • Course faculty Molecular Mycology (2010-2017)
    • Alumnus, Molecular Mycology (1998)
  •  David Sherman, PhD, Center for Infectious Disease Research
    • Alumnus, Biology of Parasitism (1987)

Congratulations to all of the Fellows!